Vegan Options at Taco Bell (Updated 2023)

Vegan Options at Taco Bell

The vegan options at Taco Bell are probably our #1 go-to on road trips. What exit we’re going to stop and get gas at is usually dictated by if it has a Taco Bell.

With the addition of being able to order something “fresco style,” you are staying in the Taco Bell worker’s wheelhouse which tends to lead to more accurate orders.

We go into detail on how to order Vegan at Taco Bell. 

–> Curious about Taco Bell’s Vegan Crunchwrap Trial? We drove to Orlando in June to try it! Click hereOpens in a new tab. to see our review.

–> October 12th-19th, 2023, Vegan Nacho Cheese Sauce is available while supplies last. Here is our Vegan Nacho Cheese Sauce ReviewOpens in a new tab.!

Vegan Options at Taco Bell

The 101 On Ordering Vegan at Taco Bell.

  1. Order exactly how we have said to do it below. We have included all ingredients listed with exactly which to eliminate. -OR-
  2. If you know the item is already vegetarian, you can ask for it to be made “Fresco Style.” This takes out any dairy AND guacamole then replaces them with tomatoes. If a menu item comes with guacamole, we state how to order it to make it vegan rather than telling you to order “fresco style.”
  3. You can customize any order.
  4. Ordering online is available at most locations & makes it super easy to ensure you are ordering & subbing ingredients correctly.

Optional Customizations

I chose to preface the guide with your optional customizations so you can go into the list of vegan options thinking about how you can make it yours if you prefer. 


Be aware, removing items does not reduce the price but adding add-ons costs extra… except for ordering Fresco Style–this is a way to add tomatoes for no extra cost. 

  • Refried Beans
  • Black Beans
  • Potatoes
  • Seasoned Rice
  • Guacamole
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Lettuce
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Red Sauce
  • Fiesta Strips
  • Nacho Fries (limited time)


  • Black Bean Soft or Crunchy Taco. Order with NO cheese … comes with black beans and lettuce. Ordering “Fresco Style will automatically remove the cheese and ADD tomatoes for no extra cost.
  • Refried Bean Soft or Crunchy Taco. Order with NO cheese … comes with refried beans and lettuce. Ordering “Fresco Style will remove the cheese and ADD tomatoes for no extra cost.
Vegan Options at Taco Bell
Taco Bell’s Bean Burrito Fresco Style


You have the option to order your burrito ‘grilled.’

  • Bean Burrito. Order with NO cheese or say “Fresco Style.” Ordering “Fresco Style” will remove the cheese and add tomatoes … comes with refried beans, onions and red sauce. 
  • Veggie Burrito Supreme. Order with NO cheese or sour cream. Or just say “Fresco Style” … comes with pinto beans, onions, tomatoes, lettuce and red sauce.
  • Cheesy Bean & Rice Burrito. Order with NO nacho cheese sauce or creamy jalapeno sauce. Or just say “Fresco Style. This will remove the dairy and add tomatoes … comes with refried beans and seasoned rice. 
  • Fiesta Veggie Burrito. Order with NO cheese, sour cream or chipotle sauce … comes with black beans, seasoned rice, tomatoes, guacamole and fiesta strips.


  • Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme. Order with NO sour cream or nacho cheese sauce. Or just say “Fresco Style … comes with black beans, tomatoes and lettuce. You may want to get creative with this one. Otherwise, it tastes a bit bland. 


Chips with Vegan Cheese Sauce is available until October 19 or while supplies last. 

  • Nachos BellGrande. Order “Fresco Style” and with NO beef … comes with nachos, refried beans and tomatoes. 
  • Chips and Nacho Cheese. Order with NO cheese … this will just be chips.
Taco Bell Vegan Options
Taco Bell Veggie Mexican Pizza with NO cheese. 9/2022


  • Veggie Mexican Pizza. Order with NO cheese … comes with refried beans, Mexican pizza sauce, and tomatoes on Mexican pizza shells. Could be fun to add some “add-ons” to customize your pizza. 


  • Black Bean Chalupa. Order with NO cheese or sour cream. Or just say “Fresco Style … comes with black beans, lettuce and tomatoes. 


  • Power Menu Veggie Bowl. Order with NO cheese, sour cream or avocado ranch dressing.  …  comes with black beans, seasoned rice, guacamole, lettuce and tomatoes.
Vegan Options at Taco Bell
Taco Bell’s Cinnamon Twists

Sides & Sweets

  • Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Cheese Sauce (limited time; while supplies last)
  • Vegan Nacho Cheese Sauce side.
  • Nacho Fries (limited time)
  • Black Beans … a bowl of black beans.
  • Seasoned Rice … a bowl of seasoned rice
  • Black Beans & Rice … a bowl of black beans and seasoned rice
  • Chips and Nacho Cheese. Order with NO cheese … this will just be chips.
  • Pintos N Cheese. Order with NO cheese … this is a bowl of pinto beans & red sauce.
  • Potatoes. They have a side called Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes. Let them know you just want a side of potatoes with nothing else. 
  • Hash Brown
  • Cinnamon Twists
  • Strawberry Twists (limited time)
Vegan Options at Taco Bell
Nacho Fries! Order with NO cheese sauce. 4/2023


  • Diablo Sauce Packet
  • Mild Sauce Packet
  • Hot Sauce Packet
  • Fire Sauce Packet
  • Red Sauce
  • Breakfast Salsa

As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Note: VeggL is a US-based website. All info contained on our site (and app) is regarding US based locations.

Taco Bell Vegan FAQ

Taco Bell

Does Taco Bell Have A Vegan Crunchwrap?

On June 8, 2023, Taco Bell began a Vegan Crunchwrap trial in 3 locations across the United States; one in NYC, Orlando and Los Angeles. The trial lasted for 1 week or until supplies were gone.

We took a trip to Orlando to try it and wrote our review/thoughts hereOpens in a new tab.. Spoiler alert: It was SO good and needs to be on menus like yesterday!

Locations included: Los Angeles (6741 Hollywood Blvd, Ca 90028, New York City (976 6th Ave, New York, NY 10018), and Orlando (11893 East Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32826)

Is Taco Bell’s Flour Tortilla Dairy Free and Vegan?

Yes. Taco Bell’s flour tortilla is certified vegan according to their nutritional information. The ingredients are:

Bleached enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil), contains 2% or less of salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, yeast [yeast, sorbitan monostearate, ascorbic acid]), sugar, dough conditioners (mono- and diglycerides, fumaric acid, sorbic acid, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, sodium metabisulfite, cellulose, corn starch, dicalcium phosphate, with tocopherols, ascorbic acid and citric acid [added as antioxidants]), calcium propionate (P), molasses. Contains: Wheat. [certified vegan]

Is Taco Bell’s Guacamole Vegan?

Yes! According to Taco Bell’s Guacamole ingredient list, it is certified vegan. The ingredients are:

Avocado pulp (avocado, lime juice, salt), onions, tomatoes, sauce (soybean oil, water, salt, distilled vinegar, cane sugar, garlic powder, disodium inosinate and guanylate, dehydrated onion, spice, citric acid, mustard, modified corn starch, sorbic acid, phosphoric acid, propylene glycol alginate, xanthan gum, natural flavor, calcium disodium EDTA (P). [certified vegan]

Are Nacho Fries Vegan?

The short answer is yes, the Nacho Fries at Taco Bell are vegan. Just make sure to order them WITHOUT the Nacho Cheese dipping sauce. Long Answer: Are Taco Bell’s Nacho Fries Vegan?

What are the Red Strips at Taco Bell made of?

The Red Strips are also called Fiesta Strips at Taco Bell. They are crunchy tortilla strips with a red coloring and are certified vegan. The ingredients are:

corn masa flour, vegetable oil, beet juice, annatto extract and carrot juice

Are the refried beans at Taco Bell vegan?

Yes! Here is the official ingredient list from Taco Bell’s website: Pinto beans, soybean oil, seasoning (salt, sugar, spice, beet powder (VC), natural flavors, sunflower oil, maltodextrin, corn flour, trehalose, modified cornstarch). [certified vegan]

Does Taco Bell offer Potatoes?

Yes! Currently, Taco Bell offers the Spicy Potatoes but no longer carries the Nacho Fries. 

Is the Chalupa shell vegan?

Yes! If you look at Taco Bell’s allergen information, the Chalupa shell ingredients list says, “Certified Vegan.” You will have to substitute the beef for beans and order NO sour cream or cheese. Or, order the Black Bean Chalupa Fresco Style.

Which ingredients are “Certified Vegan?”

The following are Taco Bell’s certified vegan items on their menu (Taco Bell has labeled these as such):

Black Beans, Chalupa Flatbread, Cinnamon Twists, Fiesta Tortilla Strips, Flour Tortilla, Gordita Flatbread, Hash Browns, Iceberg Lettuce, Jalapeno Peppers, Mexican Pizza Shell, Nacho Chips, Onions, Potato Bites, Refried Beans, Seasoned Rice, Taco Shells (soft & crunchy), Tomatoes, and White Corn Shell.

And here are the sauces that are certified vegan:

Diablo, Fire, Hot, Mild, Breakfast salsa, Green sauce, Guacamole, Mexican Pizza sauce, Red sauce, 

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: Bean Burritos “Fresco Style”. To be very specific, 3 Bean Burritos “Fresco Style” with Fire Sauce. As mentioned above, this is probably my favorite road trip quick stop meal.

Pro Tip – Don’t try to open up the burrito to add the sauce, just squeeze out a bit onto the end of each bite. And bonus add-ins that make it even better is the seasoned rice and potatoes.

Jen’s Pick: Bean Burrito “Fresco Style,” with 2 packets of Mild Sauce/burrito will always be my go-to with Cinnamon Twists.

More Info:

  • If you’d like to check out Taco Bell’s full menu, head over to their Official Menu Page
  • Information pulled from Taco Bell’s Ingredient Page
  • Taco Bell not quite what you’re looking for? Check out Del Taco, Chipotle or one of our other over 215 Cheat Sheets for popular chain restaurants.
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up-to-date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *