5 Vegan Fast Food Desserts Worth the Calories

Vegan Fast Food Desserts

Fast food chains aren’t typically the first place most of us look toward when we’re seeking out dessert. However, sometimes you need to grab something fast and something sweet would really hit the spot.

So, we poured through all of our vegan guides that we’ve been accumulating over the past couple years and have come up with our list of the vegan fast food desserts that you can pick up at one of these popular chains.

Cinnamon Twists from Taco Bell

Cinnamon Twists
There is a strong argument to be made for Cinnamon Twists from Taco Bell being the BEST vegan fast food dessert!

Taco Bell is our favorite road trip quick stop. Those road trip orders typically involve bean burritos ‘fresco style’ (one of the best fast food vegan options you can get) and an order (or two) of Cinnamon Twists.

If you’re not familiar with Cinnamon Twists, they’re basically flour, lightly crisped and coated with cinnamon. They’re super light and airy with the perfect amount of sweet from the cinnamon and sugar.

Also, I’m not exactly sure what the calories are in cinnamon twists (would really rather not look) but, they seem like they’re a relatively low calorie guilty pleasure.

Apple and Cherry Turnovers from Arby’s

Arby's Apple and Cherry Turnovers
Arby’s Apple and Cherry Turnovers are one of the most surprising ‘accidentally’ vegan items you can find at any fast food restaurant.

If you’re learning that the Apple and Cherry Turnovers at Arby’s are vegan for the very first time, then you’re probably just as shocked as we were. Our first thought was… how? They’re also one of the items that we get asked about the most (along with Dunkin’ bagels) where the “questions” are typically something like – ‘that can’t be right’.

Well, I guess chalk up to a victory for overly processed foods, because they are. If you’re still in doubt, go check out Arby’s Nutritional and Allergen page where it lists the turnovers as being free of the milk and/or eggs that you might expect in a pastry.

Once you wrap your head around the fact that they are (very accidentally I’m sure) vegan, stop by an Arby’s and try one. We have to admit, they’re delicious.

Non-Dairy Strawberry Streusel Ice Cream from Baskin-Robbins

Baskin Robbins Non Dairy Strawberry Streussel

Ice Cream is a dessert, right? If so, then we’d be crazy not to have Baskin-Robbins newest non-dairy ice cream flavor on this list. It’s crazy good and considering many Baskin-Robbins share a drive-thru with Dunkin’, you can grab a scoop on the go!

Even if Strawberry Streusel gets rotated off the menu, Baskin-Robbins has seemed pretty committed to having at least one non-dairy option at their locations. It’s what makes Baskin-Robbins one our favorite places to grab dairy free ice cream.

Before this flavor, there was a chocolate option and now we’ve heard a Salted Fudge Bar is coming to the menu although we haven’t seen it at our local location yet.

Non-Dairy Dilly Bars from Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen Frozen Treats
The Past and the Present. The Star Kiss took us back to our childhood and the Dilly Bar makes us excited about the future!

Sticking with ice cream for a minute, last year Dairy Queen rolled out their vegan ice cream bars – the Non-Dairy Dilly Bar. To be fair, they already had the Star Kiss which is a vegan frozen treat, but with all due respect to the Star Kiss, these Dilly Bars take it to another level.

They remind both Jen and I of the ice cream bars on a stick that we (and I’m sure most of you) had as a kid growing up. I’m just glad they don’t sell these by the box because they’d be really hard to keep out of our house!

Caramel Cocoa Cluster Frappuccino* from Starbucks

Wait a second, that’s not a dessert, it’s coffee! Yeah, okay, keep telling yourself that. I’m not sure when we started serving milkshakes at Starbucks for breakfast and pawning them off as coffee drinks, but make no mistake, you’re drinking a milkshake for breakfast. That’s a dessert.

With that being said, if you want a milkshake for breakfast, then get a flippin’ milkshake for breakfast! We’ve been there before too and they are amazing!

*Use a Non-Dairy Milk (Oat, Coconut, Almond or Soy) and Substitute 1-2 pumps of caramel syrup for caramel sauce (contains dairy). Advise NO whip.

What About…

The Dutch Apple Pie from Burger King

I’m sorry if I’m the one breaking the news to you, but in July of 2020 Burger King removed the Dutch Apple Pie from the menu. To be fair though, that’s over a year ago at this point and if you’re just finding out about it you obviously weren’t missing it that much.

Apple Pies from McDonald’s

We currently categorize McDonalds Apple Pies as not vegan. McDonalds Apple Pies contain L-Cysteine as a dough conditioner. To the best of our knowledge the L-Cysteine used in their Apple Pies come from duck feathers. (Read more about L-Cysteine)

Final Thoughts

Are Vegan Fast Food Desserts healthy? Not really.

Are Vegan Fast Food Desserts fancy? Definitely not.

However, when your sweet tooth is really craving something sugary and sweet, these vegan fast food desserts are the ones worth tracking down and splurging on!


VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Recent Posts