You may have noticed that in 2023 Chick-fil-A’s Cool Wrap is no longer what it used to be and that a couple of new wraps have been added to some locations in the United States. Of course, we’re asking if they are vegan.
To go back, we had received feedback from a couple of VeggL users who let us know that they had been able to order a veggie wrap with modifications at the location they were visiting. We then checked Chick-fil-A’s website to see what this wrap was and there isn’t one available. This wrap is also not on their allergens/nutrition guide.
Perplexed by this, I asked for clarification thru Chick-fil-A’s contact page (have not heard back yet) and checked their online ordering.
Chick-fil-A’s online ordering is where I have found the NEW wraps!
What Wraps Is Chick-fil-A Currently Offering?
Chick-fil-A has had a Cool Wrap on its menu since 2001. While they have had different iterations of it over the years, the one that stuck for many of those was one that included chicken, lettuce, beans, corn and cheese with their avocado lime ranch dressing.
We had this wrap on our Vegan Guide for Chick-fil-A but with modifications. You would order it with NO chicken or cheese then SUB the dressing with a vegan-friendly one.
As of 2023, this particular wrap has changed to no longer contain beans and corn which makes it pretty pointless to modify it. You could… but it would be the flatbread with lettuce and dressing.
Thankfully, insight had come thru from our VeggL users and with additional research, we found a couple more wraps on their menu.
One is a Spicy Cool Wrap–this one is NOT vegan nor does it make sense to make it vegan. It is the same as the regular Cool Wrap but with spicy chicken.
The other is a Southwest Veggie Wrap.
This one CAN BE made vegan!
Is Chick-fil-A’s Southwest Veggie Wrap Vegan?
As is, on Chick-fil-A’s menu, the Southwest Veggie Wrap is NOT vegan. However, it can be made vegan with a couple of modifications. This is how you do it:
Order a Southwest Veggie Wrap with NO cheese and SUB the dressing with a vegan-friendly dressing or sauce.
Currently, Chick-fil-A offers two accidentally vegan dressings:
- Light Balsamic Dressing
- Light Italian Dressing
You can choose one of those or go with our favorite, their Polynesian sauce. Ketchup, mustard or BBQ sauce can be options as well.
After these modifications, the new Southwest Veggie Wrap will have tomatoes, poblano chiles, red bell peppers, roasted corn and black beans combined with a fresh mix of lettuce tightly rolled in a flaxseed flat bread.
*We do consider this to be an accidentally vegan menu item since we do not have the origin of a couple of the ingredients in the flatbread. You choose your level of comfort.
What Vegan Sides Can I Order With My Wrap?
We appreciate Chick-fil-A’s sides. Their fries are some of our favorite fries out of all the chain restaurants in the United States. They are waffle fries with a perfect crisp and salty taste. They also have a chip version you can get if you prefer that.
Their Kale Crunch Salad is vegan as-is. It contains green cabbage and kale with almonds and a dressing made with oil, maple syrup, apple cider vinegar, distilled vinegar, mustard seed and white wine (along with preservatives). The almonds do come on the side so you can choose to add those or not.
And lastly, their fresh fruit is going to be the healthiest and freshest vegan side you can choose.
When we learned that Chick-fil-A’s Cool Wrap had changed, we got worried that this would no longer be an option. I mean, it is the ONLY substantial menu item that is vegan-friendly; with modifications.
We are thankful that they chose to keep the beans and corn and make it its own wrap. What we are confused by is Chick-fil-A’s main website not reflecting this change yet. So honestly, we’re a little unsure as to whether this is a permanent menu item.
Because of this, we suggest verifying with your location that they have it available prior to ordering.
If you would like to see our complete vegan guide for Chick-fil-A, you can find it here!