Vegan Options at Universal Studios Hollywood (Updated 2022)

Universal Studios Hollywood Vegan Options

The vegan options at Universal Studios Hollywood aren’t the best we’ve seen at a theme park (the vegan options at the Universal Studios Florida are surprisingly quite better), but there is enough here to make it work.

A couple different spots on the Upper Lot carry a Beyond BBQ Cheeseburger and there is a Spiced Cashew Brittle at a couple locations that really has our interest piqued.

Unfortunately, Universal listed no vegan options on the ‘Lower Lot’, so keep that in mind as you’re traversing through the park.


Universal Studios Hollywood Vegan Options


UPPER LOT

Hollywood & Dine

• Beyond BBQ Cheeseburger (request no French fries)
• Fresh Fruit Cup

Mel’s Diner

• Beyond BBQ Cheeseburger

Minion Cafe

• Fresh Fruit Cup

Three Broomsticks™

• Asparagus Platter

Krusty Burger

• Mother Nature Burger (request no French fries)

Cocina Mexicana

• Tortilla Chips & Dip (Choose guacamole or pico)
• Spiced Cashew Brittle

City Snacks

• Spiced Cashew Brittle

Universal Tower Snack Shop

• Fresh Fruit Cup
• Pretzel (Salted or Cinammon)

(Menu Subject to Change)


Universal Studios Hollywood Vegan FAQ


Hungarian Horntail Dragon at Universal Studios

Can I Bring My Own Food Into Universal Studios Hollywood?

Per Universal’s Website:

Please note the following guidelines for bringing food and drink into our Parks:

Acceptable items:

  • Bottled water (maximum 2 liters)
  • Small snacks
  • Any food required for special dietary needs
  • Any food required for medical purposes and medically-indicated nutritional supplements
  • Baby food/baby formula
  • Soft-sided insulated bags no larger than 8.5” wide x 6” high x 6” deep

Prohibited items:

  • Alcohol
  • Marijuana
  • Glass containers
  • Open containers
  • Large coolers of food
  • Hard-sided coolers
  • Soft-sided coolers larger than 8.5” wide x 6” high x 6” deep
  • Coolers, suitcases, and bags with wheels

Please be advised that all bags and personal items are subject to x-ray and additional inspection.

Is Universal Studios Hollywood Butterbeer Vegan?

According to someone with spoke with at Universal:

Butterbeer is suitable for those with gluten, soy, egg, wheat and nut allergies. It does, however, contain trace amounts of dairy so is unsuitable for vegans or anyone with a dairy allergy.


The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 250 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our guides with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


  • If you’d like to see the entire list of dining options at Universal Studios Hollywood, we suggest heading over to their Official Dining PageOpens in a new tab.
  • Information for this guide was pulled from Universal’s Dietary Food GuideOpens in a new tab.
  • Love theme parks like we do? Good news! VeggL has hundreds of Vegan Guides, including other popular theme parks like Disneyland and Knott’s Berry Farm
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!

Sharing is caring!