Vegan Options at Jack in the Box (Updated 2023)

Vegan Options at Jack in the Box

The vegan options at Jack in the Box are no longer what we had hoped them to be.

At one point, you had a Teriyaki Bowl on the menu along with an Impossible Burger at some locations. They had even tested a Jack’s Unchicken in a few locations in California (Monterey and Salinas) and in Reno, NV. None of these appear to still be available.

Currently, the best you’re going to do is get a salad with modifications and/or sides. If you happen to visit and discover any new vegan options, please let us knowOpens in a new tab.. 🙂

Vegan Options at Jack in the Box

All Day Breakfast

  • Hash Browns*


  • Southwest Salad. Order with NO chicken or cheese. SUB dressing with Balsamic Vinaigrette … comes with mixed greens, tomatoes, carrots, roasted corn, black beans and tortilla strips.
  • Garden Salad. Order with NO chicken, cheese or croutons. SUB dressing with Balsamic Vinaigrette … comes with mixed greens, grape tomatoes and carrots. 
  • Side Salad. Order with NO croutons. Choose Balsamic Vinaigrette … comes with crisp iceberg and romaine with grape tomatoes and carrots.  
Jack in the Box French Fries
Jack in the Box French Fries


  • French Fries*
  • Potato Wedges*
  • Seasoned Curly Fries*
  • White Rice
  • Chiquita Apple Bites. Order with NO caramel dip (contains dairy).
  • Tree Top Applesauce

Vegan Dipping Sauces & Condiments

  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Franks Red Hot Buffalo Sauce
  • Sweet N’ Sour Dipping Sauce
  • Teriyaki Dipping Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Fire Roasted Salsa
  • Hot Taco Sauce Packet
  • Kikkoman Soy Sauce Packet
  • Grape Jelly
  • Strawberry Jam
  • Pancake Syrup

*These items may share a fryer with animal products. Ask your location if this is a concern for you. As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Jack in the Box Vegan FAQ

Jack in the Box
Jack in the Box

Are Jack in the Box fries vegan?

The fries themselves are vegan. Like most fast food places, the fries may share a fryer with non-vegan food. So it really just depends on how you feel about cross-contamination.

Personally, I (Ryan) am ok with some potential cross-contamination. I kind of know that’s what I’m signing up for when I grab fast food, but we want you to be aware of it in case that is a deal-breaker for you.

Are Jack in the Box Tacos Vegan?

The taco shells themselves are technically vegan, but they are shipped to the stores with the meat already in the tacos. Then, all the tacos (each variety) are all fried together, shells with the meat.

If you’d like more info, we did a deep dive on Jack on the Box tacos and how and why they’re not vegan.

Are Jack in the Box’s Egg Rolls Vegan?

No. Jack in the Box’s Egg Rolls are not vegan. They contain many animals… pig, fish and egg. 

Does Jack in the Box have vegan burgers?

Not that we are aware of. They did test, then offer Impossible Burgers at select locations but we struggled to get information on what bun they were using to know if it was completely vegan. We have removed that option from our guide because it appears to no longer be on menus. 

Can I Eat WFPB at Jack in the Box?

Yes! You can eat whole food plant based at Jack in the Box. We suggest ordering a side of white rice with a side salad with NO croutons. Ask for their fire-roasted salsa to top it with. 

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: No Impossible Burger at the location I visited but I did get to try both fries. In a surprising upset, I think I enjoyed the regular French Fries over the Curly Fries. They have a good outer crispness and a proper amount of salt.

More Links and Info

  • If you’d like to check out their full menu, head over to Jack in the Box’s Official Menu page.
  • Information gathered from Jack in Box’s Ingredients and Allergen pages
  • Not quite what you’re looking for? VeggL has hundreds of Cheat Sheet Guides for popular chain restaurants including spots with vegan burger options like Burger King and Carl’s Jr
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up-to-date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!