Vegan Options at Burger King (Updated 2022)

Vegan Options at Burger King

The vegan options at Burger King continue to improve! With the Impossible Burger options now, they are moving in the right direction. You will need to make a couple of small modifications and we’ll give you the details below.

You also can now get a full Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner at BK with their French Toast Sticks and Hash Browns. Word of warning though, too many French Toast Sticks will have you ready to go right back to bed!


Vegan Options at Burger King


Vegan Breakfast Items

  • French Toast Sticks*
  • Hash Browns*
Burger King's Impossible Whopper
Burger King’s Impossible Whopper (order with NO mayo) and Fries

Burgers

  • Single Impossible King*. Order with NO cheese … comes with sliced white onions, pickles, ketchup and mustard on a toasted sesame seed bun.
  • Impossible Whopper*. Order with NO mayo … comes with sliced white onion, pickles, tomato, lettuce and ketchup.
  • Impossible Southwest Bacon Whopper*. Order with NO bacon, cheese or sauce … comes with an avocado spread, seasoned tortilla strips, lettuce, onion and tomato.

*Impossible burgers share a cooking surface with meat products. If you prefer, you can ask for BK to cook yours separately. They have been trained to cook it in the microwave.

Vegan Sides

  • French Fries^
  • Garden Side Salad w/Ken’s Golden Italian Dressing. Order with NO cheese or croutons.
  • Applesauce


* The Impossible Burger and fried items (other than the fries) share a broiler/grill/fryer with animal products. As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

^ BK Fries: The allergens page does not list the fries in their list of what is included in their shared fryers. We have contacted many locations and have been told the fries have their own dedicated fryer. You can ask your location if this is a potential issue for you. 

Note: VeggL is a US-based website. All info contained on our site (and app) is regarding US-based locations.


Burger King Vegan FAQ


Burger King

Are Burger King Onion Rings vegan?

We have reached out to Burger King a couple of times (most recently July 2022) because the BK allergens guide no longer has dairy as an allergy. Prior to the July 2021 allergens list, whey (dairy) was a part of the onion rings’ ingredients.

We will update this information when we have it available but will not change our guide until we have confirmation from Burger King.

Is Burger King’s Dutch Apple Pie Vegan?

As of July 2020, Burger King discontinued their Dutch Apple Pie but yes, it was “accidentally” vegan.

Are Burger King fries vegan?

The fries themself contain no animal ingredients. Burger King does not use an animal-derived oil and according to their allergens page, the fries are not included in the shared fryers. If cross-contamination is a deal-breaker for you, we suggest asking your location if the fries have their own dedicated fryer. 

What is the Burger King vegan burger made of?

The vegan burger at Burger King is the Impossible Burger. The Impossible Burger is a soy based product that includes coconut oil and sunflower oil. For a full list of ingredients of the Impossible Burger check out their website hereOpens in a new tab.

Is Burger King Impossible Burger vegan?

By default, the Impossible Whopper comes with mayonnaise so be sure to order the burger without mayo. Also, the burger is cooked on the same grill with meat. So, yes, the Impossible Burger is vegan, but it does come with it’s stipulations. You can ask for them to cook it in the microwave. 

Can I eat WFPB (Whole Food Plant Based) at Burger King?

Technically, you could order the side salad with NO cheese or croutons but you will not have a dressing to go on it. The applesauce Burger King carries is Mott’s which contains high fructose corn syrup so that is not an option. 


The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 300 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


Ryan’s Pick: I’m not going to lie, I’ve been crushing Impossible Whoppers. They’re amazing. I will also say that Burger King fries are some of my absolute favorites of any fast food spot. They’re always super crispy with a good amount of salt on them.

Having said that, if we’re stopping at Burger King it’s usually a road trip breakfast drive-thru situation to grab French Toast Sticks and Hash Browns.

Without failure I always seem to really enjoy the French Toast Sticks while eating them and then always regret eating them cause I feel awful afterward.

The sense of lethargy and queasiness after consuming deep fried grease and sugar is just such a terrible combo, but then I never seem to learn my lesson either or they’re just that good it’s worth it. I can never seem to decide which.

Jen’s Pick: In a pinch or a late night out(wink), I am a fan of Burger King. I like their French Toast Sticks, Hash Browns, Impossible Whopper and Fries. I do tend to add my own vegan mayo to the Impossible Whopper though.


 

More Links Info

  • You can check out Burger King’s full menu here and their nutrition and allergen menu here
  • Want more vegan options? VeggL’s Vegan Guides Main Menu has cheat sheets for over 175 popular chain restaurants including other popular fast food locations like McDonald’s and Wendy’s
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!