Vegan Options at Penn Station East Coast Subs (Updated 2023)

Penn Station Vegan Options

The vegan options at Penn Station are not the best. In fact, you can’t even order a sub. 

You can; however, order a salad, fries or chips. So technically, you can create a meal but it’s not what Penn Station is known for. 

We answer a few questions in the FAQ, one specifically regarding their bread. You just might roll your eyes when you see why it’s not vegan.

Here’s everything that is vegan at Penn Station East Coast Subs:

Vegan Options at Penn Station 


Create Your Own Salad with your choice of the following veggies & dressing.
See the FAQ for info on the grilled veggies. 

  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Pickles
  • Red Onion
  • Sauerkraut
  • Avocado Spread


  • Spicy Brown Mustard
  • Olive Oil & Vinegar
  • Teriyaki
  • Oregano

Sides “Extras”

  • Fresh Cut Fries
  • Chips. Check ingredients

*As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Penn Station East Coast Subs FAQ

Is the Penn Station’s Bread Vegan?

No. According to their nutrition information, the bread itself is vegan; however, they use a butter flavor ON their bread that contains animal products (dairy and egg).

Are Penn Station’s Fries Vegan?

Yes. Penn Station’s fries are fried in peanut oil and are even kosher-certified.

Are Penn Station’s Wraps Vegan? 

According to their nutrition information, their wrap is NOT vegan. Why it is not, we’re not sure because they say it does not contain dairy.

We received an ingredient list (a very blurred list). It is confusing because on one hand it only lists wheat as an allergen but it does mention cheese in the ingredient list.

We would say to air on the side of caution with this one. You could ask additional questions at the restaurant if you want to though. 

Are Penn Stations Grilled Vegetables Vegan?

No. Penn Station offers grilled mushrooms, grilled banana peppers, grilled yellow onion and grilled green bell pepper. These are NOT vegan. They are cooked in a butter flavor that contains contains dairy and egg.

The grilled items also share a grill with animal menu items. 

 The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

More Info and Links

  • If you’d like to see all the options on Penn Station’s menu, check out Penn Station’s Full Menu.
  • Information for this guide was pulled directly from their Nutritional InformationOpens in a new tab..
  • Not quite what you’re looking for? VeggL has over 215 Cheat Sheet Guides for popular chain restaurants including other sub locations like Firehouse Subs and Subway
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!