Vegan Options at Subway (Updated 2021)

Vegan Options at Subway

The vegan options at Subway include multiple bread and wraps that you can fill with falafel, avocado and lots of veggies. If you need a quick sandwich option for lunch you can do much worse than Subway. Many of the chips available are vegan (check the ingredients) or you can add in a bowl of black bean soup. Here is everything vegan at Subway:

By the way, if you’re living in the US and you came here looking for a meatless meatball marinara sub covered in vegan cheese, we have some disappointing news for you. This is only available at Subway locations in Europe. *sigh*


Vegan Options at Subway


VeggL Quick Order

In line at Subway and need to know what to order, like NOW!?! Here is the best vegan options at Subway that we recommend:

  • Order the Veggie Delite – Choose one of the vegan friendly breads listed just below and then pile your sandwich with as many veggies as you like. We recommend finishing off your sandwich with either the Subway Vinaigrette or the Sweet Onion Sauce.

Vegan Friendly Breads

  • Italian (white)
  • 9 Grain
  • Harvest
  • Hearty Italian
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Sourdough
  • Slider Roll

Wraps

  • Habanero Wrap
  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato Basil Wrap
  • Wheat Wrap

Protein/Vegetables

  • Falafel
  • Vegan Patty (“Malibu Garden”) – Offered at select locations. This is NOT the same as the Veggie Patty. The Veggie Patty contains milk and egg.
  • Avocado
  • Banana Peppers
  • Carrots
  • Cucumbers
  • Green Chiles
  • Green Peppers
  • Jalapenos
  • Lettuce
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Pickles
  • Spinach
  • Sweet Peppers
  • Tomatoes

Condiments/Dressings

  • BBQ Sauce
  • Buffalo Sauce
  • Creamy Italian
  • Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce
  • Giardinera
  • Golden Italian
  • Guacamole
  • Hot Pepper Relish
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard, Deli Brown
  • Mustard, Yellow
  • Oil
  • Subway Vinaigrette
  • Sweet Chili Sauce
  • Sweet Onion Sauce
  • Vinegar

Other

  • Black Bean Soup
  • Mediterranean Vegetable Soup
  • Apple Slices
  • Chips – Check Ingredients!

Subway Vegan FAQ


Subway

Are any Subway Breads Vegan?

Six of the bread options at Subway are vegan. The Italian (white), 9 Grain, Harvest, Hearty Italian, Roasted Garlic and Sourdough. If you count the slider roll then it’s seven.

Is the Veggie Patty at Subway Vegan?

No, it’s not. The veggie patty at Subway contains both egg and milk. There is a “Malibu Garden” vegan patty that is available at select locations in Los Angeles, Connecticut, Washington DC and south Florida. If you’re lucky enough to have one of those locations near you, those patties are vegan.

Are any Subway cookies vegan?

No. Unfortunately none of the cookies served at Subway are vegan.


The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 125 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: I’ve not been to a Subway since going vegan. I’ll update here once I do.

Jen’s Pick: I have not been since they started offering falafel or a vegan patty so my sub from before is really simple. On 9 grain bread, I add banana pepper, cucumber, green peppers, lettuce, onions, spinach, tomatoes and sweet onion sauce. 


More Info:

  • If you’d like to check out Subway’s full menu, head over their Official Menu Page
  • Information pulled from Subway’s Allergen Sheet and Ingredients List
  • Not quite what you’re looking for? VeggL has over 115 Cheat Sheets including other sandwich locations like Jimmy John’s and Jason’s Deli
  • We are working tirelessly to make sure all the information contained in VeggL is accurate and up to date. However, sometimes options change. If you notice a change at a restaurant that we need to know about, let us know
 

Sharing is caring!