Vegan Options at Freddy’s (Updated 2021)

Freddy's Vegan Options

When we reach out to chains inquiring about their vegan options, rarely do we hear back the same day. But, that’s exactly what happened when we reached out to Freddy’s.

What we learned was cross-contamination is an issue with basically all their menu items sharing the same grill and fryer oil. While that is sure to turn off many vegans, it’s not exactly uncommon for restaurants to share cooking surfaces.

Having said that, the veggie burger can be ordered vegan with some modifications (details below) and the fries are vegan if you’re ok with them sharing frying oil.


Freddy’s Vegan Options


Sandwiches

Freddy’s Veggie Burger and Fries
Freddy’s Veggie Burger with shoe string fries and a sweet tea.
  • Veggie Burger*^ Order with NO cheese and NO Thousand Island Dressing – The patty itself is vegan (full ingredients can be found in the FAQ below) and the burger includes lettuce, tomato and onion on a lightly oiled and toasted bun.

^According to Freddy’s Allergen Page some Texas locations use a veggie burger that contains egg. Contact restaurant to confirm.

Sides

  • Freddy’s Fries*
  • Applesauce
  • Baked Lay’s Original
  • Crackers (the ones that go with the chili)

Condiments

  • Freddy’s Seasoning
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Sauteed Onions
  • Relish
  • Hot Dog Buns
  • Hamburger Buns
  • Rye Bread

*These items share a grill or fryer with animal products. While you are not contributing to the death of an animal, you choose your comfort level with this information.

 


Freddy’s Vegan FAQ


Freddy's
Photo Credit: Kristina Blokhin – stock.adobe.com

Does Freddy’s have a Vegan Burger?

Yes! Freddy’s has a Veggie Burger that can be ordered vegan with a few modifications but be aware that it does share a cooking surface with animal products. Freddy’s Veggie Burger is a black bean burger with cheese, thousand island dressing, onion, lettuce & tomato. Order with NO cheese and NO thousand island dressing.

-> Some Texas locations use a veggie burger that contains egg in its ingredients. Please contact restaurant for specific ingredients.

What Are The Ingredients In Freddy’s Veggie Burger?

Here is the ingredients list for the veggie burger patty we received from Freddy’s:

HYDRATED TEXTURED SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE (WATER, SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, CARAMEL COLOR), COOKED BLACK BEANS (BLACK BEANS, WATER), COOKED BROWN RICE (BROWN RICE, WATER), ONIONS, EXPELLER PRESSED CANOLA OIL, CORN, WHEAT GLUTEN, RED PEPPERS, ARROWROOT POWDER, JALAPENO PEPPERS, CHILI POWDER, VEGAN NATURAL BEEF FLAVOR (YEAST EXTRACT, MALTODEXTRIN, SALT, NATURAL FLAVORING) FLAXSEED MEAL, GARLIC, SALT, CILANTRO, BLACK PEPPER.

Are Freddy’s Hamburger Buns Vegan?

Yes. Here is a quote from Freddy’s regarding their bun – “the hamburger buns are manufactured in the same facility as items that contain dairy. We do lightly oil and toast our buns; however, the oil used is also free from animal products and by-products.”

Are the Fries at Freddy’s Vegan?

The answer depends on what your level of comfort is with shared equipment. The fries themselves are vegan but they are fried in a fryer with animal products (chicken strips and onion rings). 

Is Anything Vegan at Freddy’s?

The answer depends on what your level of comfort is with shared equipment. If you are ok with shared equipment, then  yes, Freddy’s has vegan options You can order a Veggie Burger with NO cheese or thousand island dressing and Fries. Freddy’s also has applesauce and Baked Lay’s as an option. 

Are Freddy’s Onion Rings Vegan?

No. According to Freddy’s allergen page, the onion rings contain dairy (whey). 


The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 200 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


Our Picks

Ryan’s Picks: Just picked up my first Freddy’s Veggie Burger (no cheese, no thousand island) and an order of their shoe string fries. First, the burger is about what I expected from a black bean burger. Good, not great. Flavor of the burger was good, enjoyed the lightly toasted bun – the burger wanted to break apart as black bean burgers tend to do.

I’m a fan of shoe string fries and these fries from Freddy’s were really good – 8/10.

Final Verdict – The Veggie Burger Combo (with the fries and a sweet tea) was about $9.50 so somewhere in between a fast casual place like Bareburger and typical fast food that would usually run a dollar or two cheaper. While I enjoyed both the burger and fries, I doubt I’ll be seeking it out again.

Jen’s Picks: I’ll update if/when I try Freddy’s. 


More Links and Info

  • For a look at Freddy’s complete menu head over to Freddy’s Menu Page
  • Some information on this page was pulled directly from Freddy’s Allergen Page. The rest was acquired by Freddy’s Hospitality Team who were incredibly helpful!
  • If the vegan options at Freddy’s isn’t exactly what you were looking for, VeggL has Vegan Guides for over 135 popular chain restaurants including McDonald’s and Burger King
  • We are working tirelessly to make sure all the information contained in VeggL is accurate and up to date. However, sometimes options change. If you notice a change at a restaurant that we need to know about, let us know
 

 

Sharing is caring!