Vegan Options at Velvet Taco (Updated 2023)

Velvet Taco Vegan Options

The vegan options at Velvet Taco are pretty good.

Of course, we’re biased and we’d really love to see at least one or two vegan tacos that require zero modifications, but you won’t get quite that lucky.

Having said that, they do have three vegetarian tacos that can easily be made vegan with a couple simple modifications. (Details below)

Finally, there are a few vegan sides like chips and tots that are vegan-friendly if ordered plain, but do share a fryer with non vegan-friendly items (Again, details below)

Velvet Taco Vegan Options


The easiest way to order vegan at Velvet Taco is to order one of the vegetarian tacos with a few additional modifications.

  • #4 Nashville Hot Tofu – Order with NO ranch crema and NO creole vinaigrette (contains honey). SUB Corn Tortilla or Lettuce Wrap for flour tortilla (flour tortillas contain butter).
  • #6 Falafel – Order with NO creole vinaigrette and NO tahini crema. The falafel is tossed in seasoned flour (vegan) and fried. You could also grill the falafel by request if you want to avoid the fryer.
  • #6.5 Beer Battered Cauliflower* – Order with NO white queso and NO candied pepitas. SUB corn tortilla or lettuce wrap in place of flour tortilla (flour tortillas contain butter).


  • French Fries*
  • Tots* (need to be ordered plain)
  • Chips* (need to be ordered plain)

*All the of the sides listed here and the Beer Battered Cauliflower above are fried in the same oil as chicken, Atlantic cod, fried paneer, tofu, cheese grit balls, diced potatoes, and French Fries.

* As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Velvet Taco Vegan FAQ

Is Velvet Taco Queso Vegan?

No. The Queso at Velvet Taco is well, Queso (aka cheese), so no it’s not vegan.

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports, sports venues and theme parks. Get unlimited access to all our guides with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

  • If you’d like to see Velvet Taco’s entire menu, head over to their Official Website.
  • Information for this guide was obtained directly through Velvet Taco’s staff. Thank you!
  • Don’t have a Velvet Taco near you? No worries! VeggL has hundreds of Vegan Guides, including other popular chain restaurants like Del Taco and Chipotle
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *