Halal Guys is a great spot for vegans! They began in the 90s in New York City and are now in 17 states mostly on the east coast but have expanded to the midwest, Georgia, Texas, Nevada and Washington.
Ordering here is super simple. Choose a Platter with Falafel or a Sandwich (a sandwich is just a pita with fillings), add your toppings and a vegan sauce.
Or choose a side and add pita bread or Stacy’s Pita Chips.
Here’s everything vegan at Halal Guys…
The Halal Guys Vegan Options
It is optional to add extra falafel, rice, lettuce and tomato to your meal. The falafel and rice will cost extra, the lettuce and tomato will not.
- Falafel Platter. Order with your choice of toppings and vegan sauce … comes with falafels, rice, lettuce and tomatoes.
A sandwich is pita bread filled with falafel, etc… It is optional to add extra falafel, rice, lettuce and tomato to your meal. The falafel and rice will cost extra, the lettuce and tomato will not.
- Falafel Sandwich. Order with your choice of toppings and vegan sauce … comes with falafels, rice, lettuce and tomatoes.
- Green Pepper, chopped
- Onions, chopped
- Jalapenos (cost extra)
- Olives (cost extra)
- Hummus (cost extra)
- Baba Ghanoush (cost extra)
… some locations may have other veggie toppings like cucumber.
- Tahini Sauce
- Hot Sauce Packet
- BBQ Sauce Packet
- Ketchup Packet
- Baba Ghanoush … comes with mashed eggplant mixed with tahini, olive oil and seasonings.
- Hummus … Mediterranean spread made with mashed chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and garlic.
- Falafel (2, 4 or 6 piece) … deep fried ball made from ground chickpeas and a blend of herbs and spices.
- Pita Bread
- Stacy’s Pita Chips
Look for different flavors of their hummus as well, like Roasted Red Pepper or Jalapeno Hummus.
Family Meal Deal
Serves 4-5 people.
- Choose Falafel as your protein and NO white sauce. Ask to SUB with a different vegan-friendly sauce … it is accompanied by Basmati Rice (30oz), Lettuce (12oz), Tomato (8oz), Warm Pita (16 slices), Onions (4oz), Green Peppers (4oz) and Fiery Hot Sauce (5 packets).
* As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.
The Halal Guys Vegan FAQ
Is Halal Guys Rice Vegan?
Yes! Halal Guys does NOT use any animal ingredients in their rice.
Are Halal Guys French Fries Vegan?
No. According to their allergen guide, their fries contain casein, aka dairy. We spoke with a rep who said it’s not added to the fries and must be a preservative, which means it cannot be modified.
Is Halal Guys White Sauce Vegan?
No. Their white sauce contains dairy and egg.
Does Halal Guys Have a Vegan Dessert?
No. Currently, Halal Guys offers Baklava and Cookies. Both contain dairy and eggs.
The VeggL App
Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports, sports venues and theme parks. Get unlimited access to all our guides with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!
Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!
More Links and Info
- If you’d like to see the full menu at The Halal Guys, go check out their Official Menu Page
- Information for this guide was taken from their Allergen Guide
- Don’t have a Halal Guys near you? Don’t worry! VeggL has hundreds of Vegan Guides, including other popular chain restaurants like CAVA Mezze Grill and Zoe’s Kitchen
- Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!