You might not expect for the vegan options to be great at a place known for deep frying fish and chicken and, well, you’d be right. There are a couple vegetable choices that are vegan and that’s about it. Even the fries contain milk which makes no sense, but they do. The batter is vegan, so the little crumbles that I remember would be vegan if not for the fact that the batter crunchies can end up with pieces of chicken or fish in them.
Vegan Options at Long John Silver’s
- Corn on the Cob
- Green Beans
- BBQ Sauce
- Sweet & Zesty Asian Sauce
*Per Long John Silver’s Ingredients Page: EACH OF THESE ITEMS ARE FRIED IN HIGH OLEIC CANOLA OIL WITH TBHQ AND CITRIC ACID ADDED TO PRESERVE FRESHNESS AND DIMETHYLPOLYSILOXANE ADDED AS AN ANTI-FOAMING AGENT.
Everything at Long John Silver’s is fried in the same oil, so cross-contamination will be present.
Long John Silver’s Vegan FAQ
Are Long John Silver’s Fries Vegan?
According to Long John Silver’s Ingredient List, their fries contain milk. They are also fried in the same oil as everything else, so cross-contamination would also be a concern.
Are Long John Silver’s Hush Puppies Vegan
Long John’s hush puppies contain both milk and egg in the form of whey and dried whole eggs and are therefore, not vegan.
What are Long John Silver’s Hush Puppies made of?
Long John Silver’s hush puppies are made of:
ENRICHED BLEACHED WHEAT FLOUR (NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE,RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), DEHYDRATED ONION, YELLOW CORN MEAL, SUGAR, LEAVENING (SODIUM BICARBONATE, SODIUM ALUMINUM PHOSPHATE, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE), SALT, SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, WHEY, DRIED WHOLE EGGS.
The VeggL App
Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 140 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!
Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!
Ryan’s Pick: I have not been to a Long John Silver’s in over a decade, long before I was vegan. If I end up at a Long John Silver’s sometime in the future I will update here.
Jen’s Pick: Probably not going to try any vegan options at Long John Silver’s. The only thing I liked in my pre-vegan days was their hushpuppies and those aren’t an option.
More Info and Links
- If you’d like to see all the options on Long John Silver’s menu, check out Long John Silver’s Full Menu
- Information pulled directly from Long John Silver’s Master Ingredient List
- Not quite what you’re looking for? VeggL has over 125 Vegan Guides for popular chain restaurants including locations like Taco Bell and Burger King
Disclaimer: We are working tirelessly to make sure all the information contained in VeggL is accurate and up to date. However, sometimes options change and menus change. VeggL is not responsible for out of date or incorrect information contained on this page. If you notice a change at a restaurant that we need to know about, please let us know!