Vegan Options at Five Guys (Updated 2024)

Vegan Options at Five Guys

Five guys keeps a pretty limited menu to begin with and the vegan options are limited to, well, fries. According to the Five Guy’s website – “the fries are just plain potatoes cooked in 100% peanut oil and are suitable for even vegan diets.”

So even though you can only grab fries, they are some of the best fries in all of fast food.

Here is everything vegan at Five Guys.

Vegan Options at Five Guys


  • Cajun Fries
  • Regular Fries
Vegan Options at Five Guys
Five Guys’ Regular Fries (left), peanuts and Cajun Fries (right)


*Please Note. Each location varies with where they grill their vegetables (the grilled onions and mushrooms). You will need to ask your location if they share a grill with the burgers or not if this is a concern for you.

  • Green Peppers
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Lettuce
  • Raw Onions
  • Grilled Onions*
  • Grilled Mushrooms*
  • Pickles
  • Tomatoes

“Veggie Sandwich” – If you want to try to put these toppings to use, use the lettuce as a ‘bun’ and create a ‘sandwich’ with the other toppings of your choice. Not the greatest option for sure, but sometimes it’s about just trying to make the best of things.

Unfortunately, Five Guys buns contain dairy and egg.


Don’t forget the peanuts! Just like I’m a sucker for free chips and salsa when I go to a Mexican restaurant, I can’t help but completely devour some peanuts every time I walk into a Five Guys. (which, admittedly, is way less than back in the day)

As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Note: VeggL is a US-based website. All info contained on our site (and app) is regarding US-based locations.

Five Guys Vegan FAQ

Five Guys

Are Five Guys Grilled Onions and Mushrooms Vegan?

The ingredients themselves are vegan, it’s the preparation that you will have to decide if it is vegan for you. Locations seem to vary with where they cook the grilled onions and mushrooms.

You will need to ask if they are grilled on the same grill as the animal patties if this is a concern for you.

Are Five Guys Fries vegan?

Yes! …and fried without ANY animal product in peanut oil.

Is the Five Guys veggie burger vegan?

First, the veggie burger isn’t a burger, it’s a veggie sandwich. The veggie sandwich at Five Guys consists of grilled onions, mushrooms, and green peppers, layered with lettuce and tomatoes, on a soft toasted bun.

The problem is, the toasted bun contains milk and eggs.

So, the veggie sandwich at Five Guys is not vegan UNLESS (as has been recently pointed out to us from someone in our community) you use lettuce as a ‘bun’.

Does Five Guys have the Impossible Burger?

No. Would be cooler if they did though. Seriously, Five Guys does not offer any vegan burger options whether it’s the Impossible Burger or the Beyond Burger.

If you’re looking for a plant-based burger, here are our picks for the best fast food vegan burgers.

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: The Cajun fries are awesome and the regular fries aren’t bad either. Just remember that a “Little” order of fries is still an insane amount of fries. I tried (and failed terribly) to eat the two orders of fries in the pick above. So. Many. Fries.

Jen’s Pick: While the Cajun fries have a lot more seasoning, they are just a teeny bit too spicy for me so I pick the regular fries.

More Links and Info

  • If you’d like to see Five Guys full menu, click over to their Official Menu Page
  • Information pulled from Five Guys Nutrition and Allergen Menu
  • Not quite what you were looking for? VeggL has over 215 Cheat Sheets on popular chain restaurants including locations where you can grab a plant based burger like Burger King and Bareburger
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!