Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel (Updated 2024)

vegan options at cracker barrel

It’s probably not a big surprise that the vegan options at Cracker Barrel are slim pickin’s. When I think of Cracker Barrel, I envision basically everything covered with either butter or gravy (or both!).

I have to admit in our pre-vegan days, we both loved their Biscuits and Gravy

As a vegan, you can take a breath and know you will have a few options, basically sides.

In September 2021, Cracker Barrel began testing Impossible Sausage* and as of June 2022, you can get it at ALL locations! *We make note that the Impossible Sausage is cooked on the same grill as animal products. You choose your level of comfort with this.

Here’s everything vegan at Cracker Barrel.

Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel

Breakfast Menu

Traditional Favorites

  • Coarse Ground Grits
Cracker Barrel Vegan
Cracker Barrel: Impossible Sausage*, Grits, Fried Apples, Maple Syrup and Coffee

Side Plates

  • Impossible Sausage*
  • Fried Apples
  • Fresh Seasonal Fruit
  • Fresh Apple Slices
  • Tomato Slices
  • Multigrain Toast
  • English Muffin, Plain (regional)
  • Sweet Peppper n’ Red Skin Hash (regional)

*Impossible Sausage shares a cooking surface with animal products.

Sweet Toppings

  • 100% Pure Maple Syrup
  • Blueberry Syrup
  • Sugar Free Syrup
  • Low-Sugar Fruit Spread


Salads N’ More

  • House Salad with a vegan dressing (fat-free Italian or balsamic herb vinaigrette). Order with NO bacon, cheese or croutons … comes with lettuce, cucumber and tomato.
  • Country Plate. Choose 4 Country Sides (see below). Order with NO biscuits or corn muffins.

Country Vegetables ‘n Sides

^Until further notice, we suggest asking if your location covers their baked potatoes in lard prior to cooking and if the vegetable soup is made with beef bouillon.

  • Baked Potato, plain^. (optional topping: green onions)
  • Baked Sweet Potato, plain (optional topping: pecans)
  • Vegetable Soup^ (soup selections vary daily; ask if available). Also ask if croutons top the soup (this is how the picture appears). The croutons are NOT vegan.
  • Steak Fries*
  • Breaded Fried Okra*
  • Fresh Steamed Broccoli
  • Fresh Seasonal Fruit
  • Fried Apples

*Items share a fryer with non-vegan menu items


  • BBQ Sauce
  • Ketchup

* As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Cracker Barrel Vegan FAQ

Cracker Barrel
Photo Credit: TonelsonProductions /

Is Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole Vegan?

No. According to Cracker Barrel’s allergen guide, their Hashbrown Casserole contains dairy.

Are the Pinto Beans, Sweet Baby Carrots and Whole Kernal Corn Vegan?

We cannot definitively say that any of these are or are not vegan. We have received different answers from employees, including cooks, from various Cracker Barrel locations. I will say, the majority have said they are NOT vegan.

We also have to take into account that the current Cracker Barrel Nutrition GuideOpens in a new tab. (updated 8.8.23) shows cholesterol in each of these. Cholesterol indicates that an animal product is used.

If you are interested in ordering the Pinto Beans, Sweet Baby Carrots or Whole Kernal Corn, we suggest you ask the server at the location you are visiting how they are prepared, specifically asking if they are cooked with lard, butter and/or country ham.

We have reached out to Cracker Barrel for clarification and will update if/when we learn more.

Is the Oatmeal at Cracker Barrel vegan?

Unfortunately not. The Apple n’ Cinnamon Oatmeal with pecans at Cracker Barrel contains milk.

Are the Biscuits at Cracker Barrel vegan?

No. The biscuits at Cracker Barrel are buttermilk biscuits and contain milk.

Are the Fried Apples at Cracker Barrel vegan?

Yes! The Fried Apples are vegan. Cracker Barrel also offers Fresh Apple Slices that are vegan as well.

Are the Cracker Barrel pancakes vegan?

No. We wish they were! The pancakes contain both eggs and milk. The French Toast contains egg, so no luck there either.

Does Cracker Barrel have any non-dairy milk options?

No. As of July 2023, Cracker Barrel has not added any non-dairy milk to their menu.

…FYI: taken from Cracker Barrel’s Allergen GuideOpens in a new tab.

The information provided in this guide is based upon ingredient statements provided to us by our suppliers and highlights which menu items are prepared without allergen containing ingredients.

Our normal kitchen operations involve shared preparation and cooking areas, including common fryer oil; therefore, cross-contact of all our menu items is possible.

We have identified menu items cooked in our fryer or on our grill that may come in contact with all allergens. We cannot guarantee that the menu items listed are completely free of allergens. Regarding gluten, menu items that do not contain gluten does not necessarily meet the definition of “gluten-free” for those who are highly sensitive.

We recommend our guests with food allergies speak with the restaurant manager prior to placing an order, to make the kitchen aware of your needs.

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: First time back at Cracker Barrel in a long time this morning to try out the new Impossible Sausage. Impossible Sausage was good, but for me, I actually enjoyed the Grits I ordered even more.

Is it worth going out of your way for? Maybe not, but it’s enough to not feel awkward if you’re at a Cracker Barrel with friends or family getting breakfast. Progress.

Jen’s Pick: I have been to a Cracker Barrel twice since my official vegan start date in April 2012. The first time, I ordered a plain baked sweet potato and fruit cup. It worked but honestly was the tiniest portions for the cost when most of the food there is plentiful for cheap prices.

The second time was July 2022… just after our closest Cracker Barrel started carrying the Impossible Sausage*.

I ordered grits, sausage and fried apples. Knowing the cross-contamination of the sausage weirded me out so I only ate a couple of bites and then gave it to Ryan. It was good. I then put my fried apples on top of the grits with a teeny amount of maple syrup… that hit the spot and was delicious!

More Links and Info

  • All information is a combination of Cracker Barrel’s allergen guideOpens in a new tab. and nutrition guideOpens in a new tab., conversations with a rep, employees and questions asked at our local location.
  • If you’d like to check out Cracker Barrel’s full menu, head over to Cracker Barrel’s Official Menu page
  • Not quite what you’re looking for? We have Vegan Guides for over 215 popular chain restaurants, including other breakfast places like Panera Bread and Starbucks.
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up-to-date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!