Vegan Options at Panera Bread (Updated 2023)

Panera Bread Vegan Options

The vegan options at Panera Bread include enough of a variety for you easily pick up something for breakfast or lunch.

Many of their breads and bagels are vegan. They also offer quite a few varieties of salads that with a few modifications can be made vegan.

Of course you can always take solace in the fact that the coffee is vegan. Mmmmmm… coffee.

Vegan Options at Panera Bread


  • Steel Cut Oatmeal with Strawberries & Pecans
  • Seasonal Fruit Cup
  • Peach & Blueberry Smoothie with Almondmilk
  • Green Passion Smoothie … a blend of peach & mango puree with white grape and passionfruit juice, spinach and ice. 
  • Bagels… Plain, Everything, Blueberry & Sesame
  • Not on the Menu: Ask for a toasted bagel with an avocado slice. Mash the avocado on for an “avocado toast.” 
Panera Vegan Bagels
Credit where credit is due – Panera has some of the best bagels of any chain restaurant in my opinion. Pictured here are the Plain, Blueberry and Everything bagel.


Add avocado and/or quinoa to salads or sandwiches!

  • Citrus Asian Crunch Salad. Order with NO chicken
  • Strawberry Poppyseed Salad. Order with NO chicken
  • Greek Salad. Order with NO feta
  • Fuji Apple Salad. Order with NO chicken or gorgonzola
  • Asian Sesame Salad. Order with NO chicken or wontons. The wontons are notated as “may containing egg” on the ingredients list.
Panera Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich
This Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich exceeded my expectations. I changed the Tomato Basil bread out for the Black Pepper Focaccia (amazing!). The drink is a Prickly Pear Hibiscus Fresca – it’s a great summer drink.
  • Mediterranean Bowl. Order with NO feta or Greek yogurt
  • Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich. Order with NO feta and on one of the vegan breads listed below (sandwich comes with Tomato Basil Bread by default which is not vegan–contains honey).
  • Baja Bowl. Order with NO feta or Greek yogurt
  • Teriyaki Chicken & Broccoli Bowl. Order with NO chicken
  • Peach & Blueberry Smoothie with Almondmilk


  • French Baguette
  • Kettle Chips
  • Apple
  • Banana
  • Seasonal Fruit Cup
  • Pickle Spear

Vegan Breads

  • French Baguette
  • Classic Sourdough
  • Sourdough Bread Bowl
  • Country Rustic Sourdough
  • Black Pepper Focaccia
  • Artisan Ciabatta
  • Bagels… Plain, Everything, Blueberry & Sesame


Almond Milk is available.

Hot Drinks:

  • 100% Columbian Dark Roast
  • Cafe Blend Light Roast
  • Hazelnut Coffee
  • Cold Brew
  • Madagascar Vanilla Almond Cold Brew
  • Decaf
  • Hot Tea. Check with your location’s available flavors. 

Cold Drinks:

  • Green Passion Smoothie
  • Frozen Strawberry Lemonade
  • Peach & Blueberry Smoothie with Almondmilk
  • Iced Tea & varied flavors. 

*Panera Disclaimer: “New items are added to our menu all the time, and some items are available only on a regional, test or seasonal basis… for the most up-to-date information, be sure to call or visit your local bakery-cafe and ask to speak to a manager, or check the nutrition information available at and on our mobile app.”

As with all restaurants that are not 100% vegan, cross-contamination can occur. You choose your level of comfort with this. 

Note: VeggL is a US-based website. All info contained on our site (and app) is regarding US based locations.

Panera Bread Vegan FAQ

Panera Bread

Are bagels vegan at Panera?

Yes! Panera has 4 vegan bagel options. The Plain, Everything, Blueberry and Sesame bagels are all vegan at Panera Bread.

Does Panera have Oat Milk?

Panera Bread does not serve Oat Milk. The only non-dairy milk Panera has on their menu is Almond Milk.

While that may be a bit of a bummer, on the bright side Panera does not hit you with an upcharge if you want a plant-based milk with your coffee.

Does Panera have vegan desserts?

No. All the desserts at Panera contain either egg, milk/dairy or some combination of the three. Unless you consider fruit a dessert. But, that’s as close as you’re going to get to a dessert.

Is Panera mac and cheese vegan?

I know this is going to raise some eyebrows, but it’s a question we’ve received more than once.

No, the mac and cheese at Panera contains, well, cheese. There’s no vegan cheese options at Panera Bread so there’s no vegan mac and cheese. Would be cool if they did though.

Can I eat WFPB (Whole Food Plant Based) at Panera?


  • Steel Cut Oatmeal with Strawberries, Pecans & Cinnamon Crunch Topping. Order with NO Pecans or Cinnamon Crunch Topping
  • Peach & Blueberry Smoothie with Almond Milk
  • Green Passion Smoothie
  • Fresh Fruit Cup
  • Apple
  • Banana
  • Bagels–Plain, Everything, Sesame
  • Breads–French Baguette, Classic Sourdough, Sourdough Bread Bowl, Country Rustic Sourdough
  • Greek Salad. Order with NO dressing, feta or salt & pepper blend. (the salt & pepper blend has oil)
  • …maybe ask if you can put the Greek Salad in the Sourdough Bread Bowl with the Balsamic Glaze? We cannot find any other “dressings” that are oil-free. 

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 300 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: I love the Everything bagel, just plain and toasted. A bagel and a large coffee with almond milk and I’m good to go.

For lunch, the Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich is way better than I was anticipating. I still find it hard to get fired up for just veggies on bread.

However, I subbed the Tomato Basil bread for Black Focaccia bread, which was absolutely amazing. Then, the hummus provides a ton of flavor – I’d definitely order this sandwich again!

Jen’s Pick: I’m a big fan of the Mediterranean Bowl! (no feta or yogurt)

More Links and Info:

  • For a complete look at Panera Bread’s full menu, head over to their official website. Panera lists their ingredients directly on each menu item and where we pulled much of the info for this guide.
  • Not quite what you’re looking for? We also have Vegan Guides for over 175 other popular coffee chain restaurants like Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!