Vegan Options at Pei Wei Asian Diner (Updated 2023)

Vegan Options at Pei Wei

The vegan options at Pei Wei Asian Diner are similar to what you’ll find at many fast-casual Asian restaurants. Pei Wei offers tofu* with a combination of rice, veggies* and sauces. 

All of the menu items we have shared do not contain animal; however, we suggest reading thru our cross-contamination information prior to ordering because this will be a determinant of if you choose to eat at Pei Wei. 

Vegan Options at Pei Wei Asian Diner

–> Be aware that the tofu* shares a fryer with animal menu items and the vegetables* are steamed in the same pot as the steamed chicken. We share our cross-contamination disclaimer below but ultimately, you can choose if this preparation is ok for you. 

You can ask additional prep questions if you would like as every location may vary in their practices. 


  • Edamame*
  • Vegetable Spring Roll*


  • Firecracker Tofu*
  • Teriyaki Tofu*
  • Thai Dynamite Tofu*

Small Sides

  • White Rice
  • Brown Rice
  • Steamed Vegetables*
  • Side of Sauce


  • Sweet and Spicy Firecracker Sauce
  • Sweet Soy Glaze (teriyaki sauce). Make sure you do NOT get the sweet soy sauce–it contains shellfish.
  • Sriracha Chili Soy Sauce
  • Chili Paste Packet
  • Chinese Hot Mustard Packet
  • Soy Sauce Packet
  • Sweet Chili Sauce Packet

* The tofu shares a fryer with animal menu items. The vegetables are steamed in the same pot as the steamed chicken. As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Pei Wei Vegan FAQ

Is Pei Wei’s Spicy General Tso’s Tofu Vegan?

No. Pei Wei’s Spicy General Tso’s Tofu contains shellfish.

Is Pei Wei Pad Thai vegan?

No. This answer has been updated as of 2023. The Pad Thai at Pei Wei contains fish sauce.

Is Pei Wei’s Thai Coconut Tofu Vegan?

No. Pei Wei’s Thai Coconut Tofu contains fish and shellfish. 

Are the Mongolian Green Beans Vegan at Pei Wei?

No. The Mongolian Green Beans contain shellfish.

Is Pei Wei teriyaki vegan?

Yes, the teriyaki sauce at Pei Wei is vegan. Be aware that if you choose to order it on veggies or tofu, the veggies and tofu both have cross-contamination. You can choose your level of comfort. 

Are the noodles at Pei Wei vegan?

No. We’re not sure what is in them that is not vegan (we have contacted Pei Wei to ask) but there is cholesterol in them which means there is animal in them.

Are Pei Wei fortune cookies vegan?

No. The fortune cookies at Pei Wei contain egg.

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


More Info & Links:

  • To check out the Pei Wei’s full menu, head over to the Pei Wei Official Website
  • Information taken directly from the Pei Wei Nutritional and Allergen Page
  • Not exactly what you were hoping for? Don’t worry. We have over 215 other Restaurant Cheat Sheet Guides like Panda Express and PF Chang’s
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!