The vegan options at KFC aren’t anything to get too excited about, at least not yet. We were actually lucky enough to be a part of KFC’s testing of Beyond Chicken. It happened at the KFC in Marietta, Georgia, just 10 minutes from our house.
LiveKindly even featured our Instagram pic (see pic below) for their story on the trial. Beyond Chicken hasn’t found it’s way onto the KFC menu yet, but if the line of people and cars that wrapped around the parking lot were any indicator, the demand is definitely there.
In the meantime, if you’re trying to order vegan at a KFC you’ll be limited to mostly sides and a simple salad. Here’s everything currently vegan at KFC:
Vegan Options at KFC
- BBQ Baked Beans – contain sugars, corn syrup and caramel color
- Corn on the Cob
- Green Beans – contain MSG
- Secret Recipe Fries* – contain MSG
- Sweet Kernel Corn
- House Side Salad – Order with NO Croutons
- Marzetti Light Italian Dressing
- Apple Turnover – contains high fructose corn syrup and palm oil
Dipping Sauces and Condiments
- Grape Jelly Packet
- Lemon Juice Packet
- Strawberry Jam Packet
- Summertime BBQ Dipping Sauce Cup
- Sweet N Tangy Dipping Sauce Cup
Kids Meal Applesauce
- Musselman’s Applesauce
*We are waiting on confirmation if the Fries share a fryer with meat products. For now, double check with your location if you are concerned about cross contamination.
Vegan KFC FAQ
Are KFC fries vegan?
The secret recipe fries themselves at KFC are vegan. However, make sure to check with your location if they share a fryer if you are concerned with cross contamination.
One more note on the fries. Here are the official ingredients for the fries at KFC:
Sea Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Maltodextrin, Salt, Dextrose, Vegetable Powders (Onion, Carrot, Tomato), Tricalcium Phosphate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Spices, Soybean Oil, Natural Flavors, Potassium Chloride, Paprika Extract (color), Turmeric Extract (color). Potaoes, Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Canola, Cottonseed, And/Or Sunflower), Bleached Wheat Flour, Contains 2% Or Less Of: Rice Flour, Durum Wheat Semolina, Dextrin, Salt, Degermed Yellow Corn Meal, Cornstarch, Leavening ( Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Annatto Extract Color, Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate (To Maintain Natural Color).
Yes, those are the ingredients just for the fries. This doesn’t change the fact that they are still vegan, but we were a bit shocked when we learned this and thought it was something we should share with you as well.
Is the Beyond Fried Chicken at KFC vegan?
If you read the FAQ’s on KFC’s website about their Beyond Fried Chicken it notes that the Beyond Chicken is not vegan because it shares a fryer. When we spoke with KFC at the trial they told us they were using separate fryers for that day. Hopefully if the demand is high enough, not only for the Beyond Fried Chicken, but a FULLY VEGAN option, we can help make those changes.
Does KFC still offer Potato Wedges?
No. In the spring/summer of 2020, KFC removed their Potato Wedges and rolled out the new Secret Recipe French Fries. In doing our research, we see many people are not happy about the discontinuation and have been voicing their opinions on social media.
The VeggL App
Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 180 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!
Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!
Ryan’s Pick: We went for the Beyond Chicken event in Marietta, GA. Had the Beyond Boneless Wings and Potato Wedges. The Wings themselves were good, but not something to get overly excited for. The idea of KFC offering a vegan option like that is still pretty awesome though.
Jen’s Pick: I agree with Ryan. Excited that KFC is potentially going to offer Beyond Chicken. If they do, I may grab some out of convenience occasionally, but probably not something I’d go out of my way to go get.
- If you’d like to check out KFC’s full menu, head over to KFC’s Official Website
- Information taken from KFC’s Allergies and Sensitivities page
- For more info on KFC’s Beyond Fried Chicken
- Not quite what you’re looking for? We have Vegan Cheat Sheets for over 130 popular chain restaurants
- We are working tirelessly to make sure all the information contained in VeggL is accurate and up to date. However, sometimes options change. If you notice a change at a restaurant that we need to know about, let us know