While Carrabba’s doesn’t offer A LOT of vegan options, we are impressed that they put together a list so we no longer need to question what they are.
If you do a search for their vegan options, the questions around the bread and minestrone soup have been around for years.
Yes to the bread. No to the minestrone soup. You do have a couple pasta options and a few sides. Should be an easy and filling meal to create.
Vegan Options at Carrabba’s
- Bread & Oil with Herbs
- House Salad or Side Salad. SUB dressing with a vegan dressing option below … comes with romaine, carrots, shredded cabbage; topped with pepperoncini and kalamata olives.
- Italian Salad or Side Salad. SUB dressing with a vegan dressing below … comes with romaine, garden vegetables, and kalamata olives.
- Light Balsamic Dressing
- Extra Virgin Olive Oil with Red Wine Vinegar or Balsamic Vinegar
Pastas are served with a side salad. See above for modifications.
- Linguini Positano … comes with crushed tomatoes, garlic, olive oil & basil.
- Spaghetti with Pomodoro Sauce
- Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pomodoro Sauce
- Gluten-Free Casarecce Pasta with Pomodoro Sauce
- Grilled Asparagus Side
- Sautéed Broccoli … sauteed with a mix of red peppers, garlic, onion and olive oil.
- Sautéed Spinach … sauteed with garlic and olive oil.
- Grilled Seasonal Vegetables
- Penne Pomodoro
* As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.
Carrabba’s Vegan FAQ
Is the minestrone soup at Carrabba’s vegan?
No. According to their list of vegan options that came out in November 2019, the Minestrone Soup is vegetarian, not vegan.
Can I eat WFPB (Whole Food Plant Based) at Applebee’s?
Yes! Order the House or Italian Side Salad with Red Wine Vinegar or Balsamic Vinegar, Steamed Broccoli, Steamed Spinach and whole grain spaghetti with no oil or sauce. Ask for a lemon to squeeze over top and one of the red wine or balsamic vinegar to drizzle.
You can also ask if they can make you a sauce that is oil-free. No guarantees but you could ask.
Are any of Carrabba’s soups vegan?
Unfortunately, no. There is still very old information on the internet saying their minestrone soup is vegan. That is not correct. We did not confirm if it used to be but as of 2020, they do not offer any vegan soups.
Does Carrabba’s offer vegan fresh pasta?
No. All of Carrabba’s fresh pastas are made with eggs.
What is the difference between Positano and Pomodoro sauce?
Positano is a light and simple sauce consisting of olive oil, crushed tomatoes, garlic and basil whereas Pomodoro has the same ingredients but the sauce is smooth and cooks for much longer creating an additional depth of flavor.
The VeggL App
Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 300 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!
Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!
Ryan’s Pick: One of my saving graces for navigating being a vegan is I love pasta. Good pasta with a good sauce and I’m happy. The Linguini Positano is fantastic and would be my first choice. I’ve also had the Spaghetti with Pomodoro Sauce and it is excellent is well. Can’t go wrong with either in my opinion.
Jen’s Pick: I am a big fan of a pasta sauce that is smooth and cooked for a long time so my preference is generally the Spaghetti with Pomodoro Sauce and a side of Grilled Asparagus or Sautéed Broccoli.
More Info and Links
- To see Carrabba’s full menu, head over to Carrabba’s Website
- In addition, you can also see Carrabba’s Vegetarian & Vegan Menu Options pdf, here.
- Not quite what you were looking for? VeggL has over 175 Vegan Guides for popular chain restaurants including other Italian locations like Olive Garden and Maggiano’s
- Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!