Ruby Tuesday’s NEW Impossible Burger: Is It Vegan? (Updated 2024)

Vegan Options at Ruby Tuesday

Ruby Tuesday’s debuted a new burger on their new and revamped menu that we are all hoping is vegan-friendly!

At the beginning of November 2023, Ruby Tuesday added an Impossible Burger to their menu. When doing my research, I noticed there is conflicting information being shared.

Of course, our ultimate question is if the Impossible Burger is vegan as a whole but one of the details that has controversy is if the bun is.

We are going to answer all of your questions and share details, like ingredient lists, here.

Is Ruby Tuesday’s Impossible Burger Vegan?

Let’s go through what is included in Ruby Tuesday’s Impossible Burger and if each individual ingredient is vegan-friendly.

But before we start, I want to remind you that when choosing to eat at a chain restaurant or a restaurant that is NOT 100% vegan-friendly (or does not offer a designated space for their vegan menu items), cross-contamination can/will occur.

You will need to choose what your level of comfort is when eating here.

Ruby Tuesday’s Impossible Burger

…consists of an Impossible patty, iceberg lettuce, sliced tomatoes, pickle slices and red onion rings on a brioche bun.

The Impossible patty, lettuce, tomato, pickles and onion are all vegan-friendly so that just leaves the bun. We have come to learn that brioche buns typically have egg in them but as someone who reads every label, I am also aware that you can find vegan-friendly brioche buns more often now.

So let’s go through the bun’s ingredients.

Is the Brioche Bun Vegan at Ruby Tuesdays?

Yes. Ruby Tuesday’s Brioche Bun is accidentally vegan according to the ingredient information provided by the company. We also compared them to the restaurant we ate at.

The Brioche Bun contains the following:

[Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Sugar, Margarine (Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Water, Salt, Mono- And Diglycerides (Plant), Artificial Flavor, Colored With Annatto, Calcium Disodium EDTA [Preservative], Vitamin A Palmitate Added), Yeast, Contains 2% Or Less Of Each Of The Following: Wheat Gluten, Salt, Yellow Corn Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Dextrose, Calcium Sulfate, Dough Conditioners (Contains One Or More Of The Following: Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate (Plant), Monoglycerides (Plant), Mono- And Diglycerides (Plant), Distilled Monoglycerides (Plant), Calcium Peroxide, Calcium Iodate, DATEM, Ethoxylated Mono- And Diglycerides (Plant), Enzymes, Ascorbic Acid), Colored With Annatto Extract, And Turmeric Oleoresin, Glaze (Water, Sunflower Oil, Vegetable Proteins, Wheat Maltodextrins, Wheat Dextrose, Corn Starch), Calcium Propionate (To Retard Spoilage) ], Liquid Margarine [Beta Carotene, Calcium Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Liquid Soybean Oil, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Salt, Sodium Benzoate, Soy Lecithin, Vegetable Mono & Diglycerades, Vitamin A Palmitate, Water ]

The shine on top of the bun is a “buttery spread.” It is a vegan-friendly liquid margarine made with:

Beta Carotene, Calcium Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Liquid Soybean Oil, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Salt, Sodium Benzoate, Soy Lecithin, Vegetable Mono & Diglycerades, Vitamin A Palmitate, Water

Vegan Options at Ruby Tuesday
Ruby Tuesday’s Impossible Burger + Tater Tots. 11/2023

And the next question would be…

Is Ruby Tueday’s Impossible Patty Cooked with Meat?

This is the biggest decision you will have to make when choosing whether or not to order the Impossible Burger. Yes, it does share a grill with animal menu items.

As we mentioned above, you choose your level of comfort.

For myself, I get too weirded out by that but Ryan does not.

What Is Our Review of Ruby Tuesday’s Impossible Burger?

While I did not try it, Ryan loved it.

In fact, he took a moment after the first bite to ask how long it had been since we have had an Impossible Burger because it was that good.

And to answer that question, I couldn’t remember. It’s been that long.

What Sides Are Vegan Friendly at Ruby Tuesday?

You have a decent amount of sides to choose from when ordering your Impossible Burger.

Choose from French Fries, Tater Tots, a Baked Potato, Roasted Baby Bellas, Grilled Zucchini, Fresh Steamed Broccoli and Roasted Corn.

The French Fries and Tater Tots share a fryer with animal menu items while the grilled/roasted items may also. We suggest asking if this is a concern for you.

In Conclusion…

We are fans of Ruby Tuesday offering an Impossible Burger now! As mentioned multiple times, you will have cross-contamination with the cooking process but you can choose if you are ok with that.

Thankfully, they do offer other menu items that are vegan-friendly, including their Fresh Garden Bar. We suggest looking at our Vegan Guide for Ruby TuesdayOpens in a new tab. to see them all in detail.

If you happen to try Ruby Tuesday’s new Impossible Burger, let us know what you thought of it in the comments!

VeggL (Jen and Ryan)

VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts