In 2019, Burger King partnered with Impossible Foods to launch the Impossible Whopper.
The Impossible Whopper ended up being one of the most successful product launches in Burger King’s history. Burger King is again at the forefront of the fast food plant-based movement by being the first to offer Impossible Foods sausage in their new Impossible Croissan’wich.
Burger King announced that, “After a successful test earlier this year in select U.S. markets, BK guests across the country can now get the same Croissan’wich breakfast sandwich they know and love with a delicious Impossible Sausage Made From Plants.”
All this begs the question: Is the Burger King Impossible Croissan’wich vegan?
The Impossible Croissan’wich is served with egg and cheese on one of Burger King’s popular croissants. The fact that the breakfast sandwich is served with egg and cheese makes it obvious that the sandwich, by default, is not vegan.
However, what if you order the sandwich without the egg and cheese? Essentially, is it vegan if it’s just on the croissant? For instance, the Beyond Sausage at Dunkin’ can be ordered with just the sausage on the muffin and it becomes a vegan-friendly option.
So the question becomes…
Is the Burger King Croissant Vegan?
Unfortunately, the same ‘hack’ from Dunkin’ doesn’t work the same for the Impossible Croissan’wich because the croissant itself is made with milk and eggs.
If you’re a vegetarian, you have hit the Burger King breakfast jackpot, but if you’re a vegan – well, not so much.
By the way, just in case you’re wondering here is the official Burger King croissant ingredients:
Burger King Croissant Ingredients
Enriched bleached flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), skim milk, margarine [palm oil, water, salt, mono- and diglycerides, soy lecithin, sodium benzoate (preservative), artifical flavor, beta-carotene
(color), vitamin A palmitate], high fructose corn syrup, yeast. Contains 2% or less of each of the following: salt, egg yolks, corn syrup, water, mono- and diglycerides, maltodextrin, sugar, natural and artificial flavors, wheat gluten, calcium propionate (preservative), sodium caseinate, whey proteins, soy lecithin, soy flour. Contains: wheat, milk, eggs, soy.
Can the Impossible Croissan’wich be Modified Vegan?
If you’ve been vegan long enough, you’ve learned how to hack and modify menu items to cut out animal products. So, is there a way that we can ‘create’ a breakfast sandwich using the Impossible Sausage? The only other viable option to make a breakfast sandwich at Burger King is a biscuit, which is also not vegan so no luck there.
Honestly, the options get pretty limited pretty fast. The best case scenario that I can honestly think of is to get just the sausage with hash browns and mash them together for a “breakfast bowl” type situation. But, that seems like a pretty big reach and probably more trouble than it would be worth to try to pull off. (not to mention crazy expensive because you’d still be paying for the whole sandwich)
Burger King Breakfast Vegan Options
If the Impossible Croissan’wich is a no-go, what can you order at Burger King for breakfast?
There are really only two available vegan options:
- French Toast Sticks
- Hash Browns
While both are delicious, both may share a fryer with non-vegan items so understand that cross-contamination may be an issue.
More Links and Info
Featured Image Photo Credit: (Savvapanf Photo / Shutterstock.com)
If you’d like to see all the vegan options at Burger King, for both breakfast and lunch/dinner then head over to our Burger King Vegan Options Guide.