Starbucks has a new Lime-Frosted Coconut Bar on its menu. Up to this point, there hasn’t really been a vegan-friendly baked good (unless you consider bagels a baked good), but I thought with the words ‘Lime’ and ‘Coconut’ in the name… maybe?
So, is the Starbucks Lime-Frosted Coconut Bar Vegan?
The short answer here is no, it’s not vegan. Not even close really. The Coconut Bar contains Butter, Egg, White Chocolate, Cream Cheese and Non-Fat Milk Powder. As I said, not even close to being vegan.
If you want to dig a little deeper with me I’m going to list out all of the ingredients for you as well as share a few recommendations for what you can order vegan at Starbucks. Or you can also skip straight out to our Starbucks Vegan Guide which details everything vegan at Starbucks and how to make any needed modifications.
Let’s take a closer look at the Lime-Frosted Coconut Bar, shall we?
Starbucks Lime-Frosted Coconut Bar Ingredients
This list of ingredients was pulled directly off the product page on Starbucks website:
ENRICHED FLOUR [WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, ENZYME, FOLIC ACID], BUTTER [CREAM, SALT], POWDERED SUGAR [SUGAR, CORN STARCH], BROWN SUGAR, EGG, ROLLED OATS, WHITE CHOCOLATE [SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, MILK, NONFAT DRY MILK, SOY LECITHIN, VANILLA], COCONUT, CREAM CHEESE [PASTEURIZED MILK AND CREAM, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, CAROB BEAN GUM, GUAR GUM], CANOLA OIL, WHITE COATING [SUGAR, PALM KERNEL AND PALM OILS, NONFAT MILK POWDER, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVORS], PALM OIL, KEY LIME PUREE [WATER, KEY LIME CONCENTRATE, PULP CELLS, AND LIME OIL], INVERT SUGAR, NATURAL FLAVORS, SALT, WATER, BAKING POWDER [SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, SODIUM BICARBONATE, CORN STARCH, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE], MODIFIED CORN STARCH, COCONUT OIL, BAKING SODA, GREEN COLOR SUSPENSION [MALTODEXTRIN, GUM ARABIC, SPIRULINA EXTRACT, TREHALOSE DIHYDRATE, TURMERIC OLEORESIN, SUNFLOWER OIL, WATER, SUCROSE, SODIUM ASCORBATE, BETA CAROTENE, ASCORBYL PALMITATE AND DL-ALPHA-TOCOPHEROL], SOYBEAN OIL, SOY LECITHIN.
So, since this Lime-Frosted Coconut Bar is a no-go, let’s take a look at a few vegan-friendly food items that you can order at Starbucks.
Starbucks Vegan Food Menu Items
Three of the varieties of bagels at Starbucks are vegan – the Plain, Cinnamon Raisin and Everything. (Note: There is also an Everything Cheddar bagel – it is NOT vegan)
If you decide to get a bagel, look for Guacamole, Justin’s Hazelnut butter or Justin’s Classic Almond Butter. All are delicious and can be used as a spread.
Related –> We examined 11 restaurant and grocery store bagels to find all the vegan-friendly options.
Chickpea & Avocado Protein Box
Starbucks rolled out this protein box on their menu about a year ago and it can work perfectly as a snack or light lunch. I believe it gives off ‘Lunchable for Mature Adults’ vibes, but maybe that’s just me.
Strawberry Overnight Grains
The Overnight Grains come with oatmeal (in coconut milk), cooked steel-cut oats, red quinoa and chia seeds with shaved coconut, strawberries and toasted almonds.
It’s probably my favorite food item on Starbucks’ menu.
Starbucks is also good for having a variety of random vegan-friendly snacks available as well. Dried Fruit, Mixed Nuts, Hippeas and Kale Chips are just some of the snacks you might find at a Starbucks.
I honestly believe it’s just a matter of time before you get a few vegan-friendly baked goods from Starbucks. It’s actually surprising that it’s taken this long.
One thing is for sure though, the Lime-Frosted Coconut Bar isn’t it.