Is Sonic’s Boba Bursting Bubbles Vegan?

Is Sonic Boba Bursting Bubbles Vegan

Sonic has added Boba-style Bursting Bubbles drinks to their menu for a limited time.

There are currently two varieties of Bursting Bubbles on the menu, the Cherry Burst and the Cherry Burst Slush. They’ve also previously served a Blue Burst (Blue Raspberry flavor) as well, but that doesn’t appear to be an option anymore.

The question we’re here to answer (or at least try to) is – Are Sonic’s Bursting Bubbles Vegan-Friendly?

Well, long story short, we don’t know. Now, why would we waste our time writing an article answering a question we don’t actually know the answer to?

Hopefully, to save you from wasting your time going through what we went through trying to find out only to end up right where we started.

You see, we don’t know the answer as to whether Sonic’s Bursting Bubbles are vegan-friendly because Sonic doesn’t seem to know either.

The Sonic Help Line

We called their corporate office helpline and after being placed on hold for a few minutes, I was told they didn’t have that information in their system. The lady then told me her supervisors suggested I ask in-store.

How, I asked, would a local store have this information if corporate – where they get their information from – doesn’t have this information?


Alas, I went ahead and called a few stores as they suggested and (surprise, surprise) they weren’t sure either. Kudos to them, I guess, for at least being honest and not making an uneducated guess.

By Email

Finally, we submitted our question using the online contact form on Sonic’s website. The response we got back was less than helpful.

Dear Ryan,

Any info for that would be on the website under nutrition.

Thank you.

Sonic, America’s Drive-In
Customer Experience Team

Spoiler Alert: There is no info regarding the Bursting Bubbles on the Nutrition Page.

Bottom Line – We recommend staying away from the Bursting Bubbles because we couldn’t get an answer from anyone on exactly what they are made with. If you know something we don’t, please contact us and let us know!

What Is Vegan-Friendly at Sonic?

To be honest, not a whole lot. But, if you’re looking for a fun, cold drink on a hot day then there are some other options at Sonic that should work.

The Lemonade Slush and Limeade Slush are both vegan.

The Plain Slush Base is also vegan and then if you want to customize your slush you can choose from the following Flavor Add-Ins and Syrups:

  • Blackberry
  • Blue Coconut
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Cherry
  • Diet Cherry
  • French Vanilla
  • Grape
  • Mango
  • Peach
  • Raspberry

To customize your drink even further, you can also choose from the following toppings and add-ins:

  • Fresh Banana
  • Lemon
  • Lime
  • Maraschino Cherries
  • Peanut Butter Topping
  • Strawberry Topping

More Links and Info

If you’d like to see everything vegan at Sonic, including how to make any necessary modifications to menu items, make sure to check out our Sonic Vegan Guide.

Featured Image Photo Credit: Ken Wolter /

VeggL (Jen and Ryan)

VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts