Is MOD’s Chocolate Peppermint Cake Vegan?

Vegan Options at MOD Pizza

MOD Pizza recently released a chocolate peppermint cake for the holidays. Honestly, they look amazing. Like an upscale version of the hostess cupcakes that I would destroy when I was a kid (okay, as an adult too before I went vegan don’t judge).

But, are the Chocolate Peppermint Cakes at MOD vegan?

Unfortunately, no, they’re not. Like the other ‘no name’ cakes at MOD, they contain both eggs and dairy.

Read on to see the full ingredients list of the Chocolate Peppermint Cakes and a few options of what you can order vegan at MOD.

Chocolate Peppermint No Name Cake Ingredients

Here is the full ingredients list taken from MOD’s Allergen Page:

sugar, palm kernel and/or palm oil, water, enriched bleached wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), cocoa processed with alkali, eggs, soybean oil, candy cane sprinkles (powdered sugar [sugar, corn starch], rice flour, vegetable oil [palm and/or palm kernel oil], natural and artificial flavors, cellulose gum, red 40 lake [color], carrageenan, titanium dioxide [color], soy lecithin [emulsifier]), 2 % or less of the following: modified food starch, milk solids, whey, corn syrup, corn starch, baking soda, peppermint extract, soy lecithin [emulsifier], salt, nonfat dry milk, vanilla extract, sodium acid pyrophosphate, gum acacia, xanthan gum, modified gum acacia, monocalcium phosphate, medium chain triglycerides, citric acid [preservative], monoglycerides, maltodextrin, vegetable juice [color], annatto extract [color], ascorbic acid, potassium hydroxide

What Is Vegan at MOD?

Even though the Chocolate Peppermint Cakes aren’t vegan, MOD Pizza does a good amount of vegan-friendly options you can order.

You can create-your-own pizza and choose from a good selection of ingredients.

MOD’s Original and Gluten-Free crusts are both vegan (cauliflower crust is not). They do have vegan cheese (Daiya) and Plant-Based Italian Sausage (Plantly). Then, of course, you can choose from a ton of veggie toppings.

Finally, top it off with one of their vegan-friendly sauces like Balsamic Fig Glaze or Hot Buffalo Sauce.

If you’re not in the mood for a pizza you can also create-your-own salad. MOD has plenty of veggies and vegan dressings you can choose from.

To see the complete list of all the vegan options available at MOD, please check out our MOD Pizza Vegan Guide.

Other Vegan Peppermint Options

Starbucks Dairy Free Drinks
Starbucks’ 2022 Holiday Drinks veganized.

I know many of us may be looking for peppermint options during the holidays, but unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of menu items out there at chain restaurants.

My only suggestion would be to grab a peppermint-inspired holiday drink at Starbucks. Or, find yourself a local vegan bakery making holiday treats.

VeggL (Jen and Ryan)

VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts