Is Baskin Robbins Peppermint Cocoa Shake Vegan?

Vegan Options at Baskin Robbins

Baskin Robbins has added a NEW shake for the holidays… a Peppermint Cocoa Shake. How yummy does that sound?

Of course, we had to find the ingredients and see if it’s an option for us vegans.

Unfortunately, Baskin Robbins Peppermint Cocoa Shake is NOT vegan, nor can it be made vegan.

Read on to see the full ingredients list of this shake and a few options of what you can order vegan.

Peppermint Cocoa Shake Ingredients

Here is the full list of ingredients taken from Baskin Robbins’ websiteOpens in a new tab.:

Peppermint Ice Cream: Cream, Nonfat Milk, Peppermint Twists [Candy {Sugar, Corn Syrup, Vegetable Juice (Color), Natural Peppermint Oil, Soy Lecithin}, Palm Kernel Oil], Sugar, Corn Syrup, Whey Powder, Contains 2% of less of: Cellulose Gum, Mono and Diglycerides, Guar Gum, Carrageenan, Polysorbate 80, Natural Flavor, Vegetable Juice (Color), Beta Carotene (Color), Annatto (Color); Milk; Chocolate Syrup: Corn Syrup, Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, Cocoa processed with alkali, Contains less than 2% of: Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Xanthan Gum, Carrageenan, Natural and Artificial Flavor.

What Is Vegan at Baskin Robbins?

You are in luck if you were having a craving for BR’s new shake’s flavors because the ONLY non-dairy ice cream that is currently available (as of December 2022) at Baskin Robbins is a Non-Dairy Mint Chocuchunk

Your location may have other flavors as some locations vary with availability. We suggest asking.

…and as a side note, we visited 3 locations wanting to try the Non-Dairy Mint Chocochunk and not one of them had it in stock nor did they have ANY non-dairy ice creams. They only had the Daquiri Ice. 🙁

I asked if they were discontinuing them and they said no, their store just hasn’t ordered any more non-dairy flavors. Ok…. They all said this. 

We went to taste the ice cream and only got a pic of the sign… sad face.

–> If your location DOES have a non-dairy ice cream in stock, let’s continue on with our regularly scheduled info.

You can order your non-dairy ice cream on a cake cone or in a cup. 

Or as a sundae. 

In a sundae, you can top it with any of the following vegan toppings… the last 3 are considered “accidentally vegan.”

  • Almonds, chopped
  • Banana
  • Maraschino Cherries
  • Oreo Crunch Topping*
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Sauce*

*The ingredient lists for the Oreo Crunch Topping & Reese’s Peanut Butter Sauce are listed in the FAQ section of our Baskin Robbins Vegan Guide.

As for beverages, you have a couple of options.

One is their Mangonada Drink. It is a tribute to an authentic Mexican drink featuring Mango Puree with chamoy and Tajin Clasico Seasoning. It was supposed to be a limited-time drink beginning in March 2021; however, it is still there!

Another one would be a float. A Root Beer Float or Coca Cola Float with the Non-Dairy Mint Chocochunk. No idea how it would turn out with the many flavors it would have, but it could be fun. 🙂

A float is another option that varies by location. It IS listed on Baskin Robbins’ website but is not available at any of our closest locations. 

What Would Our Orders Be at Baskin Robbins?

Jen: It would most likely be a scoop of the Non-Dairy Mint Chocuchunk in a Cake Cone. I have to say, even though I’m no longer a pop drinker, I am curious what it would taste like as a float with either Coca-Cola or Root Beer. 

Ryan: I keep my ice cream orders pretty simple. Two scoops in a bowl is perfect, although I’m with Jen on the fact that I would be very interested to try a Root Beer Float.

Who Else is Offering Peppermint Options this Holiday Season?

Starbucks is offering a Peppermint Mocha but it is NOT vegan as-is. You can order it iced or hot but make sure to order with your choice of non-dairy milk (oat, soy, almond or coconut), NO whip and NO chocolate curls. 

You can see more of their options on our Starbucks 2022 Vegan Holiday GuideOpens in a new tab..

Dunkin’ is offering also offering a Peppermint Mocha Latte, called a Peppermint Mocha Signature Latte, and again is NOT vegan as-is. You will want to order it like this…

Order an iced or hot Latte with Peppermint Mocha Swirl and your choice of non-dairy milk (oat, almond or coconut).

The original signature latte has Peppermint Mocha Swirl Syrup AND the Mocha Swirl Syrup. You can ask for both if you choose or go with just the Peppermint Mocha Swirl Syrup. That is up to you.

We also have a 2022 Vegan Holiday GuideOpens in a new tab. for Dunkin as well. 

If you are aware of any other peppermint options at any chain restaurants across the United States, please let us knowOpens in a new tab.!

VeggL (Jen and Ryan)

VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts