UPDATE: Looking for the 2021 Dunkin Holiday Drinks Guide?
Tis the season for all of our favorite Dunkin’ holiday drinks. It’s time to put away the pumpkins and break out the peppermint!
Dunkin’ has revealed their 2020 holiday menu including 3 limited time signature drinks. This, of course, begs the question:
Are they vegan?
Figuring out whether each drink is (or at least can be modified to be) vegan really comes down to the flavored syrup that is being used. Any drink at Dunkin’ can be ordered with either Almond or Oat milk. Secondly, always order with no whip as it contains dairy.
The flavored syrup is what really makes the drink what it is. Hard to have a ‘peppermint’ coffee if the peppermint flavoring isn’t vegan.
With that in mind, let’s take a look at each new holiday drink –
Signature Peppermint Mocha Latte
The Peppermint Mocha Flavored Swirl Syrup is vegan. This means you can order the drink – just make sure to make a few small modifications. Order with Oat or Almond Milk. Also, make sure to order with no whip.
Verdict: Vegan (with modifications)
Signature Gingerbread Latte
The gingerbread flavored swirl syrup is not vegan. It is made with sweetened condensed nonfat milk. If you’re looking for a vegan holiday drink, you’ll have to pass on the Gingerbread Latte.
Verdict: NOT Vegan
Chai Oatmilk Latte
Earlier this year, Dunkin’ added Oat Milk as a non-dairy alternative. Now, it’s being featured in one of their new holiday drinks and with good reason – Oat Milk in coffee is MAGICAL.
According to Dunkin’ the Chai Oatmilk Latte is “a sweetened chai tea blend featuring a merry mix of spices, including cinnamon, cardamom, and nutmeg, combined with the rich and creamy taste of oatmilk.”
Best of all, the Chai Oatmilk Latte is vegan straight off the menu. No modifications needed.
Verdict: 100% YES!
The only new food item on the menu for the holidays at Dunkin’ is their new Sourdough Breakfast Sandwich. Unfortunately, it’s about as far from vegan as you can get. So what can you get if you want to grab some vegan grub with your holiday drink?
Vegan Food Options at Dunkin’
- The Beyond Sausage Sandwich – Order with NO egg or cheese. A bit expensive when all you end up with is a muffin and a piece of Beyond Sausage, but it is pretty good.
- Bagels: Plain, Multigrain, Cinnamon Raisin, Everything & Sesame – Make sure to order plain (and toasted if you like). The Dunkin’ locations where we live are determined to always put cream cheese on a bagel.
- English Muffin
- Hash Browns
- Quaker Oatmeal with Dried Fruit
We hope this guide helps make ordering one of Dunkin’s new holiday drinks a little easier! If you like to see the complete list of everything vegan at Dunkin’, make sure to check out our Dunkin’ Vegan Options Guide. It’s one of over 110 Vegan Restaurant Guides that VeggL has for popular chain restaurants.