Vegan Options at Taco Cabana (Updated 2023)

Taco Cabana Vegan

As of 2019 the vegan options at Taco Cabana have included Beyond Beef along with two kinds of beans and vegan-friendly tortilla shells (the corn tortillas!).

Mexican fast casual restaurants tend to be pretty vegan-friendly and Taco Cabana is no different. You shouldn’t have any trouble finding something to eat off their menu and the Beyond Beef Bowl can even be ordered ‘as-is’ directly off their menu!

Taco Cabana Vegan Options

Vegan Options with Beyond Meat

  • Crispy BeyondMeat Taco. Order with NO cheese – Comes with shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes in a crispy shell.
  • Soft BeyondMeat Taco. Order on a corn tortilla and with NO cheese – Comes with shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes.
  • BeyondMeatNachos*. Order with NO queso or sour cream – Comes with black beans and pico de gallo. 
  • BeyondMeat Cabana Bowl*. Order with NO sour cream – Comes with rice, black beans, shredded lettuce, pico de gallo and guacamole.
  • Beyond Beef Bowl – The Beyond Beef Bowl is vegan-friendly and is served in a tortilla shell bowl, filled with Mexican rice and black beans, lettuce, sweet corn calabacita (zucchini) and guacamolito.

*Chips and tortilla shell bowl share a fryer with chicken flautas.


The refried beans are cooked with bacon fat and are therefore not vegan.

Per Taco Cabana’s allergen page, they offer two different flour tortillas; one being called a fresh flour tortilla. This is our reasoning for specifying you order the Soft BeyondMeat Taco with the corn tortilla. We have reached out to Taco Cabana and will update information once we receive it. 


  • Rice
  • Black Beans
  • Chips* and Guacamole

*Chips and tortilla shell bowl share a fryer with chicken flautas.

Kid’s Meals

Ask if you can add a black bean taco instead of the default options of crispy beef taco, bean & cheese taco, cheese enchilada or kid’s quesadilla.

  • Kid’s Rice
  • Kid’s Black Beans

Family Meals

Comes with grilled onion and bell pepper, rice, guacamole, lettuce & pico de gallo. SUB Corn Tortillas for flour tortillas. Order with NO cheese or sour cream.

  • Black Beans


  • Salsa Roja
  • Pico de Gallo
  • Onions
  • Cilantro
  • Sliced Jalapenos
  • Lemon / Lime Wedge
  • Table Corn Tortilla


  • Seasoned Potatoes*

*Potatoes share a fryer with chicken flautas.


As with basically any restaurant that is not 100% vegan, cross-contamination is possible, if not probable.

Taco Cabana uses a shared common fryer for basically all of their fried menu items including chips, fried bowls, churros and chicken flautas.

The fryer being shared with a meat item like chicken flautas will, without a doubt, be an issue for some vegans. You choose your own level of comfort when ordering. We just want to make you aware of as much info as possible so you can make an informed decision.

Taco Cabana Vegan FAQ

Taco Cabana
Taco Cabana sign at night. (Photo Credit: Philip Lange /

Are the Refried Beans at Taco Cabana Vegan?

No, they are not. They are typically served with a cheese garnish, but even without the cheese garnish the refried beans are cooked with bacon fat are not vegan.

Instead, go for the black beans which are vegan-friendly.

Taco Cabana used to do Borracho Beans (they don’t currently carry them on the menu) and those were also cooked with bacon fat, just as an FYI.

Is Taco Cabana Beyond Meat Vegan?

Yes. Taco Cabana’s Beyond Meat is the same Beyond Meat that you’ll find at many restaurants and grocery stores. It is vegan.

The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 400 vegan guides for restaurants, airports, sports venues and theme parks. Get unlimited access to all our guides with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!

  • Looking for Taco Cabana’s complete menu? Head over to their Official WebsiteOpens in a new tab..
  • Information for this guide was obtained directly through calling MULTIPLE Taco Cabanas along with referencing their Nutritional GuideOpens in a new tab..
  • Not quite what you were looking for? VeggL has hundreds of vegan guides, including guides for other Mexican fast casual locations like Chipotle and Qdoba.
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!