On a recent cross-country trip to the Grand Canyon, we came across Taco Buenos for the first time when going through Texas and Oklahoma. Turns out there are quite a few Taco Buenos in the that area of the country.
Most Mexican Fast Food has become pretty vegan friendly. Ordering at Taco Bell or Del Taco is pretty easy nowadays. (And Taco Bell doesn’t even have a faux meat… yet). When we did our research on Taco Bueno we were pretty disappointed to see that not only do they not have any Impossible or Beyond on their menu, but their refried beans are seasoned with rendered bacon fat.
Obviously, this severely limits the vegan options at Taco Bueno. There are a few, but don’t expect a vegan friendly oasis in the middle of the Texas sun here.
VeggL Quick Order
Are you in the Taco Bueno drive-thru and need to figure out what to order, like NOW!?! Here are the best vegan options that we recommend:
- Order a Tex-Mex Platter: Either the Black Beans & Cilantro Rice or the Black Beans & Mexi Rice
- If you just want to grab a quick snack, order the Chips & Guac or an order of the Cinna Chips (think Cinnamon Twists in chip form)
Complete Taco Bueno Vegan Menu
- Potato Sticks
*Double check the menu numbers as they could change
- Setup #3 – Black Beans & Cilantro Lime Rice
- Setup #4 – Black Beans & Mexi Rice
Chips & Dips
- Chips & Guac
- Cinni Chips
- Party Taco Kids Meal Apple Juice
- Party Taco Kids Meal Apple Sauce
- Party Taco Kids Meal Crispy Potato Sticks
Always keep in mind that Cross-Contamination is an issue at almost all fast food restaurants. Here is Taco Bueno’s official statement on the issue:
Like most restaurants, we prepare and serve products that may contain egg, milk, soy, wheat or other allergens. The Food Allergy & Sensitivity information displayed on this site is based on standard product formulations and is current as of last update. While a particular ingredient may not contain one of these allergens, our products may be prepared on the same equipment and in the same kitchen area as those that do. We cannot guarantee that cross contact with allergens will not occur and neither Taco Bueno our employees, nor our franchisees assume any responsibility for a person’s sensitivity or allergy to any food item provided in our
Taco Bueno Vegan FAQ
Are the Taco Bueno Churros Vegan?
The Churros at Taco Beuno are made with egg whites, so no, they are not vegan. This information was obtained directly from their Allergen page.
The VeggL App
Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 125 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!
Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!
Ryan’s Pick: Once we found out that the refried beans contained bacon fat we decided to take a pass on trying out Taco Bueno. We almost drove through just to try out the Cinna Chips, but ended up just going elsewhere.
Jen’s Pick: N/A.
More Links and Info:
- Want to see Steak n Shake’s full menu? Head over to the Taco Bueno’s Full Menu Page
- Information pulled directly from Taco Bueno’s Nutrition, Allergen and Ingredient Information
- Not seeing exactly what you wanted? We also have vegan guides for Del Taco and Taco Bell as well as over 110 other popular chain restaurants on our Vegan Guides at Restaurants Main Page
- We are working tirelessly to make sure all the information contained in VeggL is accurate and up to date. However, sometimes options change. If you notice a change at a restaurant that we need to know about, let us know