Vegan Options at Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen (Updated 2022)

Popeye's Vegan Options

The vegan options at Popeyes are not anything to get too excited about.

If you do find yourself at a Popeyes, because you’re out with family and friends, there are a few options that can get you by. If you don’t mind doing a little explaining, you can make your own vegan po’boy.

If not, your best bet is to go for some Corn on the Cob (as long as they don’t make it with butter. Make sure to ask) with a Baguette. As is the case with many fast food places, be aware of items that may share a fryer with meat.


Vegan Options at Popeyes


Sides

Popeyes Cajun Fries. Vegan
Popeyes Cajun Fries
  • Po’Boy. Advise NO chicken or seafood and NO sauce. Ask them to load it up with the veggies and add a Vegan Sauce from below on the side.
  • Corn on the Cob but FIRST ask if they can make it without butter. Some locations do & some do not.
  • Baguette
  • Cajun Fries (MSG)^
  • Grits (Breakfast)
  • Hashbrown (Breakfast)^
  • Applesauce

Vegan Sauces:

  • BoldBQ
  • Cocktail

*The Red Beans & Rice and Cajun Rice have meat in them.
^May share fryer with meat. Check with your location. 


Popeye’s Vegan FAQ


Popeye's Louisiana Kitchen

Are Popeye’s fries vegan?

The fries themselves at Popeye’s are vegan. Like most fast food places, the fries may share a fryer with non-vegan food. So it really just depends on how you feel about cross-contamination.

Personally, I (Ryan) am ok with some potential cross-contamination. I kind of know that’s what I’m signing up for when I grab fast food, but we want you to be aware of it in case that is a deal-breaker for you.

Does Popeye’s Red Beans and Rice Have Pork In It?

Yes. Popeye’s red beans and rice are cooked with pork. Obviously, this makes them not vegan.

Are Popeye’s biscuits vegan?

The Biscuits at Popeye’s contain milk, so unfortunately no, they are not vegan. If you’re looking for a bread option, try the baguette – they are vegan.


The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 300 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our sheets with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


Our Picks

Ryan’s Pick: Got a box of fries on an away game when the team got Popeye’s for the guys. Credit where credit is due, their fries are legit.

I’ve only actually been to Popeyes once since going vegan and it was for the exact situation as described above. Ended up at a Popeyes with some co-workers. That time, I had two pieces of corn on the cob and a baguette. Both were okay.

Jen’s Pick: I’ve honestly never eaten at a Popeyes.


 

More Info:

  • Want to see Popeyes full menu? Head over to the Popeyes Official Menu page.
  • Info for this cheat sheet  was pulled directly from Popeye’s Nutritional Info Page
  • Not seeing exactly what you wanted? We also have Cheat Sheets for over 175 different popular restaurant chains including other locations like KFC and Chick Fil-A.
  • Disclaimer: We do everything possible at VeggL to make sure all our Vegan Guides are as up to date as possible, but sometimes menus and menu items can change. VeggL is not responsible for incorrect or outdated information. Always check with your location and server to confirm items are vegan when ordering. If you notice something that needs to be corrected – please let us know!

Sharing is caring!