Are Taco Bell Mexican Pizzas Vegan?

Taco Bell Mexican Pizza Vegan

I’m not ashamed to admit it. we were in the drive-thru early on that day in May 2022; the day Taco Bell put Mexican Pizzas back on the menu. Apparently, we weren’t the only ones. Not long after, we started seeing Mexican Pizzas being sold out across the country and have been ever since. 

Taco Bell has now announced that Mexican Pizzas are coming back again on September 15th. So, if you missed them last time around – here’s your chance.

Is the Mexican Pizza vegan though? If it’s not vegan straight off the menu, can it be modified? If so, exactly how do I order a Mexican Pizza vegan from Taco Bell?

I’m about to answer all these questions and more. Let’s go!

Are Taco Bell’s Mexican Pizzas Vegan?

Taco Bell
Taco Bell Photo Credit: JJava Designs /

No. The Mexican Pizza can be modified though.

A little history… Taco Bell’s original Mexican Pizza was on the menu for a couple of decades, at least, prior to being taken off the menu in 2020. The original automatically came with their seasoned (animal) beef. 

In May 2022, Taco Bell brought them back. Only this time, they had two options; the original with animal beef and one with refried beans called a Veggie Mexican Pizza. 

September will be no different. You will be able to order the Veggie Mexican Pizza. 

How To Order Vegan: Order a Veggie Mexican Pizza with NO shredded cheese. It will come with refried beans, Mexican pizza sauce, and tomatoes on Mexican pizza shells.

You can always customize it as well with Taco Bell’s “add-ons”

Is the Mexican Pizza Sauce Vegan?

In addition to the shell, beans and tomatoes, the Mexican Pizza comes with a Mexican Pizza Sauce. Good news. Not only is it vegan-friendly, it is ‘certified vegan’. Here are the ingredients from Taco Bell’s Ingredient StatementOpens in a new tab.:

Water, diced tomatoes, diced green chilies, modified food starch, onions, sugar, tomato paste, spices, salt, maltodextrin, paprika (VC), garlic powder, xanthan gum, onion powder, disodium inosinate & guanylate, natural flavors, trehalose, citric acid. [certified vegan]

Mexican Pizza Add-Ons

Don’t be afraid to get creative! One of my favorite vegan fast food items is the Bean Burrito which I started adding potatoes and seasoned rice too. Total gamechanger!

Here are some vegan-friendly add-ons that can use to customize your pizza how you want:

  • Guacamole
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Black Beans
  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Seasoned Rice

FYI: If ordering online, the Creamy Jalapeno Sauce is listed as a popular add-on but it is NOT vegan. It contains dairy and egg.

Yes, you’ll pay a little extra for add-ons (typically anywhere from 30 cents to 85 cents), but it can be worth every penny.

What Else is Vegan at Taco Bell?

Taco Bell: Cinnamon Twists, Bean Burrito Fresco Style (grilled), Black Bean Chalupa Fresco Style.

Taco Bell is one of the vegan-friendliest fast food restaurants in the US. A good chunk of their menu is already vegetarian-friendly and there are many menu items that can be ordered vegan simply by requesting ‘Fresco Style‘.

Here are a few easy-to-order vegan-friendly items:

Black Bean (Soft or Crunchy) Taco

Ordering Fresco Style will remove the cheese and add diced tomatoes. You’ll then have tacos with black beans, lettuce and diced tomatoes.

Bean Burrito

Ordering Fresco Style will remove the cheese and add diced tomatoes. You’ll then have burritos with refried beans, onions, red sauce and diced tomatoes.

As I mentioned earlier, adding potatoes and seasoned rice makes the bean burrito a hearty and delicious beast of a burrito.

Black Bean Chalupa

Ordering Fresco Style will remove the cheese and sour cream. Your chalupa will then come with black beans, lettuce and tomatoes. This is Jen’s favorite! But don’t forget a sauce (mild, hot, fire) otherwise it is a little dry.

Cinnamon Twists

Don’t forget the Cinnamon Twists! One of the most delightful vegan fast food desserts that you’ll find anywhere.

This is by no means all of the vegan options available at Taco Bell. For a complete list of everything vegan at Taco Bell, make sure to check out our Taco Bell Vegan Guide.

Final Thoughts

The Mexican Pizza at Taco Bell may not be vegan straight off the menu, but with a slight modification and ordering it as a Veggie Mexican Pizza you can be enjoying one when they return in September. I know we will!

VeggL (Jen and Ryan)

VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts