Are Jack in the Box Fries Vegan?


Are Jack in the Box Fries Vegan

Sometimes whether or not something is vegan is not necessarily a simple yes or no. There exists a grey area, especially when it comes to eating out, whether at a fast food location or a fine dining restaurant. This grey area can exist because of cross-contamination concerns during the cooking process.

With that in mind, let’s look at whether or not Jack in the Box’s Fries are vegan.

If you look solely at the ingredients (which we are posting just below – taken directly from Jack in the Box’s Ingredients Page), then yes, they are vegan. Do they have more ingredients than most of us would probably like to see? Yes to that as well, but that’s an issue for another time.

Jack in Box Fries Ingredients

French Fries Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Contains one or more of the following: Canola, Palm, Soybean), Modified Food Starch (Potato, Corn, Tapioca), Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum

Cross-Contamination Concerns

Jack in the Box

We (Jen and Ryan) at VeggL list Jack in Box’s fries as vegan on our Jack in the Box Vegan Guide. We acknowledge that cross-contamination can be a concern, but quite frankly, it’s an issue at almost any restaurant that is not 100% vegan.

Jack in the Box addresses this very issue at the top of their Allergen Page:

Like most restaurants, our restaurants prepare and serve products that contain Soy, Egg, Fish, Milk, and Wheat. While a particular ingredient statement may not list one of these allergens, our products may be prepared with equipment that is shared with products containing one or more of these allergens. If you have a food allergy, please consult with your physician before deciding which Jack in the Box® products are right for you.

But, we know that some, whether for ethical or dietary reasons, take cross-contamination even more seriously. So, we went one step further to look into what we feel is the biggest cross-contamination concern for fries at a fast food restaurant.

Shared Fryers For Fries?

When it comes down to it, the thing that most vegans want to know is whether or not the fries share a fryer with other items that include egg or dairy and especially meat.

Jack in the Box is not shy about throwing food in a fryer, with up to 15 different menu items being cooked via a fryer.

However, according to this article and a few different locations that we spoke to personally (we actually called 15 locations before we got someone to answer a phone), Jack in the Box fries have their own dedicated fryer and do not share that fryer with any other items.

Jack in the Box’s fries have their own fryer, the tacos have their own fryer and then there are fryers for the chicken, onion rings and jalapeno poppers.

What Else is Vegan at Jack in the Box?

Well, for the most part, a lot of sides. You can get potatoes four different ways and as an entrée, a teriyaki rice bowl with veggies.

  • Chicken Teriyaki Bowl. Order with NO chicken. Add extra veggies
  • Side Salad with Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • French Fries
  • Potato Wedges
  • Seasoned Curly Fries
  • Hash Brown (Breakfast)
  • Chiquita Apple Bites. Order with NO caramel (contains dairy).
  • Tree Top Applesauce

For a complete list of every vegan option at Jack in the Box, make sure to check out our Jack in the Box Vegan Guide.


The VeggL App

Download the ultimate on-the-go vegan resource. Quickly access over 200 vegan guides for restaurants, airports and stadiums. Get unlimited access to all our guides with the free version. Upgrade to Pro to go ad-free!

Never get frustrated by not knowing what you can get to eat ever again!


Final Thoughts

After doing a deep dive on Jack in the Box’s fries, we feel comfortable saying, yes, they are vegan.

So, go stop by a Jack in the Box, grab an order of fries and enjoy!

Sharing is caring!

Veggl

VeggL is the passion project of Ryan and Jen Horton. Both vegan (Ryan for 2 years, Jen for 8), they wanted to help other vegans through one of the most frustrating aspects of being vegan. Trying to figure out what you can eat where. We hope VeggL makes your day a little bit better!

Recent Posts