Are Burger King Fries Vegan? (2022)


Are Burger King Fries Vegan

When Burger King released the Impossible Whopper in August of 2019, it completely changed the game for being able to eat vegan at Burger King.

What was once a place that was avoided if at all possible, I know at least for me, was a place I stopped at least 3 times that first week. This new-found infatuation with Burger King brought up other questions though, like:

Are The Fries at Burger King Vegan?

The short answer is we deem the fries at Burger King vegan. The fries themselves do not contain any animal ingredients, the oil* is not animal-derived and according to their allergens guide (and the multiple locations we contacted), the fryer is not shared.

Let me explain the shared fryer a bit more…

Do Burger King’s Fries Use a Shared Fryer?* 

The answer to this question gets a bit complicated so bear with me.

If you examine the Burger King Allergen Information PageOpens in a new tab. you should notice that the shared fryer box next to French Fries is indeed checked.

HOWEVER, if you read the info at the top of this Allergen Page then you’ll also notice that when they list the items that are shared in a shared fryer –

Products fried in a shared fryer include but may not be limited to: Fish Filet, Pork Sausage, Ch’King Chicken Filet, Chicken Nuggets, Original Chicken Patty, Hash Browns, French Toast Sticks and Onion Rings.

they do not mention French Fries.

We’ve also contacted multiple locations and each one informed us that the Fries have their own dedicated fryer.

-> If you really want to be on the safe side, we recommend just asking your location if the Fries share a fryer or if they have their own dedicated fryer. From our research, we believe that most (if not all) locations have a dedicated fryer for their Fries.

Other Cross-Contamination Issues

Even if Burger King has a dedicated fryer just for their French Fries we also want to acknowledge that cross-contamination is possible, if not probable, at any fast food location that is not 100% vegan friendly. That’s just a reality and something we cover in-depth on our VeggL Disclaimer page.

Ultimately, you have to choose what is your level of comfort with any potential cross-contamination issues. We’re simply here to provide you with as much information as possible to make your decision clear.

What Else is Vegan at Burger King?

So, what else can you order at Burger King that is vegan-friendly? Glad you asked!

There are a few other items to go with your fries that you can order at Burger King.

Burger King's Impossible Whopper
Burger King’s Impossible Whopper (order with NO mayo) and Fries

Impossible Whopper

The main one that most of us are familiar with is the Impossible Whopper. It can be ordered vegan if ordered without mayo. I also usually always say ‘no cheese’ (even though it’s not supposed to come with it) just to be sure.

The Impossible Whopper has its own share of cross-contamination issues as it’s generally cooked on the same grill as the other burgers. I know this is an absolute issue for many vegans and I totally get that. We’ve been told you can ask for the Impossible burger to be cooked in the microwave to avoid this, but it’s not something we’ve tried personally.

Update: Burger King has also recently released two additional sandwiches on their menu featuring the Impossible Burger – the Impossible King and the Impossible Southwest Bacon Whopper.

Side Salad

If you want to avoid the grills and fryers altogether, you can pick up a Garden Salad. Order with NO cheese and NO croutons. Opt for Ken’s Golden Italian Dressing to go with it.

Breakfast

If it’s breakfast time, you can order the French Toast Sticks* and/or Hash Browns*. These items are not as lucky as the Fries and you should assume that they share a fryer with other items including many of the meat and dairy items.

More Info

As always, if you want even more info on everything vegan at Burger King, including how to make any necessary modifications, head over to our Burger King Vegan Guide. It’s one of over 350 Vegan Guides we have here at VeggL detailing how to order vegan at chain restaurants, airports, sports venues and theme parks.

* As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan or does not offer a designated cooking space for their vegan options, cross-contamination can occur and fryers/grills may be shared with animal products. You can choose what your level of comfort is with these potential issues.

Featured Image Credit: (Savvapanf Photo / Shutterstock.com)

Veggl

VeggL is the passion project of Jen & Ryan. Both vegan (Jen since 2012, Ryan since 2018), they wanted to help other vegans & plant based folks through an incredibly frustrating process--trying to figure out what you can eat & where in the US. Pictured w/ our pups, Mia & Chompers.

Recent Posts